Thread: PPC Options

ABW Ambassador
    PPC Options
    I don't know if this is a stupid question, but I'm new to PPC. Is there a problem with me sending the traffic straight to BettyMills.com through Adwords without it going through one of my sites first as long as I don't use the Betty Mills name in my keywords? Betty Mills would be in the display url of course though.

Is this a problem? Or is everyone doing this stuff?

Thanks!

ABW Ambassador
    Anyone?

Affiliate Manager
    Thank you for wanting to send traffic directly to Betty Mills. Unfortunately, what you are proposing violates Google's affiliate policy on PPC campaigns. Google now limits the Adwords listing to one per domain. From Google's point of view, doing so will eliminate cluttered listings and promote more relevant ads.

The new policy according to Google - 'With this new affiliate policy, we'll only display one ad per search query for affiliates and parent companies sharing the same URL. This way, users will have a more diverse sampling of advertisements to choose from. As always, your ad will be displayed based on its Ad Rank for given searches, which is determined by a combination of your ad's maximum cost-per-click (price) and clickthrough rate (performance).'

Our advice -- if you want to utilize PPC campaigns, send traffic directly to your site to relevant pages. Remember if you are specific in your ads, direct the customer to that page specifically; ie if you are advertising for sheds, point them to your shed page vs your home page - this will greatly increase your conversion rate.

Let us know if you have further questions.

ABW Ambassador
    Thank you for the reply. I was thinking that it was one url per results page on Google, not search query... er, I don't really know what I was thinking. Guess I need to read it better.

But thank you for the input, I guess I need to design a new site!

Thanks again.

Mabelle,