Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    1,005
    Hi Everyone - Happy New Year. I want to add a search box to my site so that people can search my site only. But FrontPages script is big and ugly. I just want either a very small search box like they have on amazon.com or something with just the button that says search and then the box to submit the text.

    Can anyone help me find a script or know a script??

  2. #2
    Full Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    339
    try the superb free service at atomz.com

  3. #3
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    808
    Jada - which script language are u most comfortable with ?

    Yep atomz is good but if u want something like your own...which one would u be most comfortable with - according your webhost server as well

    Regards
    TGO

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    135
    Jada, check out your hosting package. Most hosts offer some search kind of search script.

  5. #5
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    1,005
    Thanks all - TGO - I'm not comfortble with any scripts - I don't know how to write them. I think I know how to insert a cgi script, if that's what you mean. My host supports Frontpage. My host was working on its' search engine script feature last time I checked.

  6. #6
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    808
    Jada - I ain't too comfortable with cgi scripts...However if you could upload them on then perhaps i will search a script for you through the net or through my dump of books...lol...

    Well i will be back in some time...if u want it...i will try and get one for u...or else go with atomz....mind giving www.freefind.com a look ?

    Regards
    TGO

  7. #7
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    1,447
    Google offers a site search/web search for free. you can change the default check box, and check search site, instead of search the web. I use Google, ironically, on the site that got dinged, and I use freefind, as well. Free find offers a "site map", too, but it's not that desirable.

  8. #8
    Full Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    339
    try atomz.com

    its not a script, you just type in your url and its robot crawls your site, then atomz.com generates some html for you to paste into your page for the searchbox and robert is a relative of your mother

  9. #9
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    1,005
    thanks all - I think I'll try the atomz. Thanks alot guys.

  10. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Code showing after Search Box
    By ayorofrance in forum GoldenCAN
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: August 26th, 2010, 11:52 AM
  2. MSN Search Box - Search Your Own Site Box
    By Trust in forum Search Engine Optimization
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: April 16th, 2005, 07:47 PM
  3. Where is the tracking code on this thehut.com search box please?
    By Azam in forum Commission Junction - CJ
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: February 15th, 2005, 12:01 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •