Question for the experts.. dupe (sorry)
    First of all, please accept my apologies for a duplicate post - I was in the UPromise forum when I posted this there by mistake (I don't know how to move/delete my own thread yet!). It has nothing to do with UPromise, and is a general question. Once again, sorry, it was an honest mistake.

I'm new to this affiliate work (proud owner of my own site). Posted my first thread last week, received very helpful suggestions from the group. Embarassed to say I knew nothing about cookie stuffing, stolen commissions, etc. but took care of that this week.

I have about 8-10 affiliate links per "section", and cloaked them from top down. Since I didn't think the older sections mattered as much, I didn't convert everything. I've had some success (traffic anyway).. about 1500 visitors/day.

I'm not a programmer, so I hope this question isn't silly, but I noticed something unusual with my site stats. Today.. a "visitor" to the site went straight to one of the last few unprotected sections. And left (all within seconds). Now I'm trying not to become a conspiracy theorist, but it's an unusual pattern (ie. nothing in my site would prompt a normal reader there so quickly). Is it possible that sites are "patrolled" for exposed links (for lack of a better word)...? And could my site be targeted specifically somehow..? I had 200-300 unprotected links for almost 2 months (sigh).

Thanks, and appreciate all the posts from everyone.. if this is a silly question, sincere apologies, I'm new & trying to learn!

I'm not sure if this is the exactly right answer or not, but visitors haven't arrived necessarily by index pages for years. Long time ago the major search engines started presenting any page of your site that they thought relevant. So any page is fair game. The visitor may not have thought the page relevent to their needs, however, so they cut out quickly.

There are many running search robots also, so your visitors may not be humans.