32. You may not vote on this poll
  • Website

24 75.00%
  • Web Site

8 25.00%
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Internet Cowboy
    Grammar Poll...common question
    I am a webmaster, so today I will build a new ____________.

Is it website or web site? One word or two? I see it both ways often.

Resident Genius and Staunch Capitalist Leader's Avatar
    I avoid the issue altogether and just call it a "site"

If pressed, I use two words because it looks better to me than one. But, I think I read somewhere that it's actually supposed to be Website. Not only one word, but capitalized to boot!

A quick check of G for "website" shows Microsoft has it like this: "Web site". Capitalized, but two words.
    On the other hand, when I searched for it as two words, G asked "Did you mean: website?"
    Other sites use every permutation imaginable. Two words, one word, capitalized and not. And, of course, plain "site."
    So who knows.
    There is no knowledge that is not power. ~Hemingway

Quote Originally Posted by UncleScooter
    I am a webmaster, so today I will build a new ____________.

Is it website or web site? One word or two? I see it both ways often.
    I don't know the correct grammatical rules about that one, because that word was not created before the 70's, so I use both of them when the page is targeted to webmasters.

Btw,

I don't know the correct grammatical rules about webmaster neither, but I use both too.

Is it webmaster or web master?