Question Lightening and PC's
    Anyone live in thunder and lightening country..??

I know that lightening can take out electrical appliances such as TV's and PC's...

But has anyone ever had a PC taken out by lightening...???

Does it fry the hard-drive...???

If it only fries everything else but the hard-drive... no problem...
    I can replace it all... but the info on the hard-drive cannot be replaced....

The reason I am asking is that I just moved to lightening country... and we had a big storm last night and I saw sparks flying out of the electrical outlet where I have my PC... LOL... it didn't get the PC but made me start thinking... I know when a lightening storm is coming I unplug my PC and TV's... But just in case it does get the PC sometime when I am away... does it fry the hard-drive....????

"Does it fry the hard-drive" Since hard-drives use magnetic fields, I think so.
    I'm no expert, but I think there are some things you can do to protect yourself, a lightning rod, or a PC battery backup to help isolate your PC from the lighting strike.

http and a telephoto
    Use a good surge protector and shut off during storms. Yes, it can fry a hard drive. But if the computer is off, it should just stop at frying the power supply.
    Deborah Carney
    TeamLoxly.com BookGoodies.com ABCsPlus.com

Influencer Marketing GravityFed's Avatar
    I dont live in lightening country --however I was once upon a time told to spend the money on a good surge protector to protect my PC. 90 $smackers$ and 12 years later I've never had an issue with my PC being damaged by power surge or the like..

but what the hell do I know about the hardware

Does anyone know.. would a good surge protector protect in this case??

GBM

Influencer Marketing GravityFed's Avatar
    Thanks Deb you answered my question while I was posting it

http and a telephoto
    Does anyone know.. would a good surge protector protect in this case??