Advantages of WordPress over Blogger?
    I've been using Blogger since 2001. I probably will remain with Blogger.

I notice that some people prefer WordPress over Blogger: what are the reasons for that? Is it the ability to classify posts into categories?
    ~Rhia7 -- Remember the 7
    Twitter me

Oh man, Wordpress kicks butt. To top it off, it's absolutely free (you have to pay for hosting, or you can use their hosting, even though that's a bit limited).

If you want absolute control of what your blog looks like, what it can do, then Wordpress is the way to go. It can be a bit complicated though. The learning curve is a bit steep, but once you get the hang of it, you'll love it.

To top it off, the community is constantly improving upon it. This means there are hundreds of free plugins that do just about anything your heart desires.

I have a WP blog as well as Typepad. If you want ease of use, but want a powerful app as well, Typepad is pretty good. I use it for blogs that I want to put up quickly, and maintain easily.

Oh, if you're big on making your blog look good, but don't want to DIY or hire someone, then Wordpress is the way to go. Since the community takes part in its upkeep, they also design free templates.

They are the only blogging tool that I know of, which provides as many blog templates as they do.
    Last edited by MoneyBusiness; May 7th, 2006 at 11:11 PM. Reason: forgot one thing

Thanks for your write-up, MoneyBusiness

You mentioned Typepad -- that involves a fee, right? But WordPress is free if you have your own hosting?

Thank you for the thumbs up
    ~Rhia7 -- Remember the 7
    Twitter me

Quote Originally Posted by Rhia7
    Thanks for your write-up, MoneyBusiness

You mentioned Typepad -- that involves a fee, right? But WordPress is free if you have your own hosting?

Thank you for the thumbs up
    Np!