Results 1 to 19 of 19
  1. #1
    What's the word? Rhia7's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 13th, 2006
    Posts
    9,578
    Help -- Resolution Notice Irking Me
    Hi,

    I installed a new software program (that I bought in a box from Comp USA) and now when I run the program I get a rectangle on my screen that says:

    Resolution Notice:
    For best picture quality change resolution to: 1024 x 768
    with a number 1 over the word "Exit" and a number 2 over "Disable."
    That rectangle pops up every few minutes, I don't know how to stop it.

    I right clicked my desktop to look at the general display properties of my screen and 1024 x 768 is my general screen resolution.

    When I right click the program and hit "properties" I see a "Compatibility Mode" but Windows XP is not on the list (Win 2000 is), so should Windows 2000 be checked or should the entire "Compatibility Mode" box be left unchecked?

    Display Settings -- I checked "Run in 256 colors."

    Any suggestions? I apologize if this sounds like a simple problem, I hope there is a simple solution to get rid of the annoying rectangle.

    Thanks for any help
    Last edited by Rhia7; June 14th, 2006 at 10:04 PM.
    ~Rhia7 -- Remember the 7
    Twitter me

  2. #2

    Join Date
    June 7th, 2006
    Posts
    1,596
    What boxed software did you buy? That would help.

  3. #3
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    November 25th, 2005
    Posts
    639
    Rhia7,

    Is this a windows alert box or a "floating" box?

    If it is not a windows alert,then is sounds like your monitor setup.
    I see this all the time in my day job.

    You should be able to turn the "resolution alert" off in the monitor setup...
    I would give you more detail but it all depends on the monitor.

  4. #4
    What's the word? Rhia7's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 13th, 2006
    Posts
    9,578
    Quote Originally Posted by CanadianDave
    Rhia7,

    Is this a windows alert box or a "floating" box?

    If it is not a windows alert,then is sounds like your monitor setup.
    I see this all the time in my day job.

    You should be able to turn the "resolution alert" off in the monitor setup...
    I would give you more detail but it all depends on the monitor.
    I think it's a windows alert.

    I have a ViewSonic flat monitor (small one).

    Would it help if I hunt for the monitor's original documentation?
    ~Rhia7 -- Remember the 7
    Twitter me

  5. #5
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    November 25th, 2005
    Posts
    639
    Yes, it should be in the original manual...

  6. #6
    ABW Ambassador thecool's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 19th, 2005
    Location
    Hot Springs Village, Arkansas
    Posts
    608
    Just click on the number "2" disable and the box should go away.

    Gene
    TCS

  7. #7
    What's the word? Rhia7's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 13th, 2006
    Posts
    9,578
    Quote Originally Posted by thecool
    Just click on the number "2" disable and the box should go away.

    Gene
    TCS
    I was actually hitting the number 2 on my keyboard. I was also pressing "F2."

    The 2 on the windows warning (whatever you'd like to call it) is not "clickable" but I'll try that again the next time I run the program.

    I hate that warning, it's bugged me previously (with other installations) and I don't remember how I solved it.
    ~Rhia7 -- Remember the 7
    Twitter me

  8. #8

    Join Date
    June 7th, 2006
    Posts
    1,596
    It's okay Rhia you don't have to say.

  9. #9
    Newbie
    Join Date
    July 2nd, 2006
    Posts
    1
    HOW TO TURN OFF "RESOLUTION NOTICE"

    After struggling for months trying to get rid of the irritating popup resolution notice, I finally discovered how to do it. It has nothing to do with Windows or your computer. The resolution notice is coming from your MONITOR.

    I have a NEC LCD 1765 monitor and I read the online manual at www.nec.com which mentions how turn the "resolution notice" on and off. I did it by pressing button #5 on my monitor but the menu selections are not clickable with a mouse. You have to scroll up and down the menu list with Montior Button #4 and then select with Monitor Button #5. I went to the "advanced menu" in this manner and found the menu item for "resolution notice" and selected "OFF".

    I am finally rid of that very irritating popup screen that was driving me crazy.
    Thank God !!! Please spread this information far and wide because I know many others are suffering from this same problem. Good luck...

    Rodger








    Quote Originally Posted by Rhia7
    Hi,

    I installed a new software program (that I bought in a box from Comp USA) and now when I run the program I get a rectangle on my screen that says:

    Resolution Notice:
    For best picture quality change resolution to: 1024 x 768
    with a number 1 over the word "Exit" and a number 2 over "Disable."
    That rectangle pops up every few minutes, I don't know how to stop it.

    I right clicked my desktop to look at the general display properties of my screen and 1024 x 768 is my general screen resolution.

    When I right click the program and hit "properties" I see a "Compatibility Mode" but Windows XP is not on the list (Win 2000 is), so should Windows 2000 be checked or should the entire "Compatibility Mode" box be left unchecked?

    Display Settings -- I checked "Run in 256 colors."

    Any suggestions? I apologize if this sounds like a simple problem, I hope there is a simple solution to get rid of the annoying rectangle.

    Thanks for any help

  10. #10
    What's the word? Rhia7's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 13th, 2006
    Posts
    9,578
    I have a flat screened ViewSonic monitor (one of the first flat screens available) -- I'll have to tinker with the program again. Thank you for your advice -- the resolution notice drives me bonkers

    When you say "Monitor Button" is it number 4 on the keyboard or F4?

    Thanks
    ~Rhia7 -- Remember the 7
    Twitter me

  11. #11
    ABW Ambassador thecool's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 19th, 2005
    Location
    Hot Springs Village, Arkansas
    Posts
    608
    Rhia7,

    Check you monitor instruction booklet. There should be 4 or 5 buttons or controls on the monitor itself. One selects the menu and two of them control scrolling up or down the menu. Your instruction booklet is the key.

    Gene
    TCS

  12. #12
    Verbosely Virtuous Mutt spacedog's Avatar
    Join Date
    June 8th, 2006
    Posts
    652
    Rhia 7 --

    If you can't find the monitor (paper) instructions, hopefully ViewSonic has a web page on their site with a downloadable PDF manual for the model of the monitor you have. If you can't find it, let me know what model number you have and I'll try to locate the info for you.

    -'dog

  13. #13
    Newbie
    Join Date
    September 16th, 2006
    Posts
    1
    I have one of the early ViewSonic monitors and NOW I see the numbers on the buttons at the bottom below the screen!! Everything is black and I never noticed that they had numbers! HOW ANNOYING!!

    THANKS!

  14. #14
    Newbie
    Join Date
    October 13th, 2007
    Posts
    1
    after months of having the same problem i found this post, and when the box says- "1 over the word "Exit" and a number 2 over "Disable." that is referring to the buttons on the screen, not on the keyboard on my viewsonic

  15. #15
    Moderator leeann's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    2,955
    My Viewsonic does the same thing and it drives me nuts. I am so glad to see this post!
    leeann


    Shoppers determine what has value and they like coupons. Stop manipulating who set the cookie just because you do not like coupon and promotional sites.

  16. #16
    Moderator leeann's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    2,955
    Maybe this will help:

    Resolution Notice displays the Resolution Notice menu shown below.
    (pretend notice is here)
    Resolution Notice advises the optimal resolution to use.
    OSD Position allows the user to move the OSD menus and control screens.
    OSD Timeout sets the length of time the OSD screen is displayed. For
    example, with a “15 second” setting, if a control is not pushed within 15
    seconds, the display screen disappears.
    OSD Background allows the user to turn the OSD background On or Off.
    Memory Recall returns the adjustments back to factory settings if the display is
    operating in a factory Preset Timing Mode listed in the Specifications of this
    manual.
    Exception: This control does not affect changes made with the User Color
    control, Language Select or Power Lock setting.
    http://www.viewsonic.com/pdf/usergui...m-1_ug_eng.pdf

    Now, if I can figure out what OSD is..
    leeann


    Shoppers determine what has value and they like coupons. Stop manipulating who set the cookie just because you do not like coupon and promotional sites.

  17. #17
    The Seal of Aproval rematt's Avatar
    Join Date
    November 19th, 2006
    Location
    The Windy City
    Posts
    4,140
    OSD=On Screen Display.

    It's the monitor's menu. Usually there's a button that says menu or OSD on he monitor. As someone mentioned earlier, some Viewsonic monitors tend to have etched characters on a black button which make it very difficult to read.

    -rematt
    "I know that you believe you understand what you think I said, but I'm not sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant." - Richard Nixon

  18. #18
    Moderator leeann's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    2,955
    Oh. D' uh!!!Thanks
    leeann


    Shoppers determine what has value and they like coupons. Stop manipulating who set the cookie just because you do not like coupon and promotional sites.

  19. #19
    Newbie
    Join Date
    December 28th, 2008
    Posts
    1
    When it says press 2 to exit, look closely on the buttons on your monitor. The little chrome buttons have numbers. Press # 2 ON THE MONITOR.

  20. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. What's Your New Year's Resolution
    By InfoScout in forum Virtual Family and Off-Topic
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: January 5th, 2011, 11:46 AM
  2. New Year's Resolution
    By Glenn - Prosper.com in forum Virtual Family and Off-Topic
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: January 5th, 2011, 02:24 AM
  3. What is your New Year's resolution?
    By ayakobing in forum Virtual Family and Off-Topic
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: December 31st, 2008, 11:10 PM
  4. Do you have a NoteBook? What's the resolution?
    By RedFish in forum Midnight Cafe'
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: November 30th, 2003, 10:48 AM
  5. What Screen Resolution you use?
    By RedFish in forum Midnight Cafe'
    Replies: 36
    Last Post: April 29th, 2003, 05:22 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •