Another question from a newbie
    Hi again,

Sorry if these questions come across as stupid - I'm still learning.

Question 1. So I have a new content site up. I'm a little slow in getting articles up but I'm working on them when I get home from work etc. Right now I have 3 up, with another 15 or so on the planning table. I've read to get google interested in your site you have to have links to it from similar styled sites. Okay fine, but doesn't that mean you are asking for a competitor to link to your site? Maybe I'm missing something there?

Question 2. These affiliate sites I read about that people seem to be making money from. How do they work? I understand you put a banner up for a product and hope someone clicks it. Is that it? I've never seen what an affiliate site looks like (note: I am not asking anyone to show me their affiliate site), nor would I recognise one if I saw it. I imagine a page/site crammed full of ads. What then prompts a person to click on one of those ads? Are there anything else on the site / page besides ads? If there is content where do you get content from? Surely you can't be expected to be an expert in everything that you have to write content for things too?

For example, I see a few people mention they sell shoes. For me, I know nothing about shoes. I might buy a pair once every 4 or 5 years (I don't even know what size shoe I take). So how would I sell shoes? I certainly couldn't write about them - I know nothing about them.

I'm not saying I want to sell shoes - I just used that as an example. Replace shoes for ink or whatever else people sell.