Thumbs down When competing with other PPC bidders, do you find they often cheat?
    For instance when a program that allows PPC bidding but has restrictions, do you often see affiliates ignoring the restrictions? Things like trademark bidding, using the merchant's display URL, or linking directly to the merchant's site-- those kind of things annoy me when I try and play by the rules. I'm sure they get a better conversion rate than me because they cheat and some programs don't police all of the PPC engines.

Do you report them? I'm new to PPC, but I will send the AM an email when I see violations... However, I feel like a schoolyard tattle when I do. Why should you let someone bend the rules when we should compete on a level field?

I see questionable tactics by other advertisers in PPC all the time, and wonder HOW they can do it when I certainly have tried and can't. A good example is on overture.

On Google I have to fill out all these disclosures and such for certain ones of my sites, and don't always get approved but scrapers don't seem to have a problem.

I guess I am clueless.

ABW Ambassador
    You have to keep in mind that not all affiliates have the same rules. Dell lets a few affiliates bid on their TM, most can't. There is one merchant I have that only lets a few affiliates bid on them and they needed my Google ID to give to Google for this to happen. So you might see a certain set of rules for the general affiliate population be it TM bidding or commission percentage etc. but you can work out your own deal. If a merchant doesn't allow TM bidding and someone is knowingly violating the rule and the merchant actually cares, it's as simple as typing their name into Google to catch them.

You're right; I don't think I'd bother reporting something I saw on Google since I assume most AM's police Google pretty well. I was thinking mostly of MSN where I think people pay less attention.