Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 28
  1. #1
    Full Member TLE's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 21st, 2005
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    338
    CJ Primary DNS Down
    The primary dns server for ALL CJ domains, ns2.cj.com (216.34.209.26), is down.

    At first appearance, no big deal since CJ's whois list the two mediaplex name servers as authoritative.

    It is a big deal because the two mediaplex servers are slaves to ns2, as the primary.

    The expire is set for 7 days, so we're at less then 7 days and counting.

    Tuan
    [url="http://www.wholesaler.com"]Wholesaler.com[/url]

  2. #2
    The "other" left wing davidh's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    3,492
    Tracking will not be affected
    CUSTOM BANNERS by GRAPHICS CANDY ~ Banner Sets and Website Graphics ~ Professional design, reasonable rates
    DESIGNER DOG CHECKS ~ We double-dog dare ya to write one!

  3. #3
    ABW Ambassador Ron Bechdolt's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Affiliateville, USA
    Posts
    7,927
    You know, I'm starting to wake up in the middle of the night thinking of things like this. Wonder what else we can expect to happen this month?
    Ron Bechdolt | Affiliate Program Management Consultant
    7 Days A Week Marketing

  4. #4
    Moderator Nabz's Avatar
    Join Date
    August 24th, 2005
    Location
    VY Canis Majoris
    Posts
    1,751
    errors, bugs, issues (EBI) that should be the new name of CJ.

  5. #5
    ABW Ambassador simcat's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Denver
    Posts
    1,786
    How about Malfunction Junction.

  6. #6
    Advocate mellie's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Here
    Posts
    1,925
    Quote Originally Posted by simcat
    How about Malfunction Junction.

    LOL, thanks I needed that.

  7. #7
    Member ripe's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    141
    Exclamation DNS WORK! Please check before bla-bla
    Quote Originally Posted by TLE
    The primary dns server for ALL CJ domains, ns2.cj.com (216.34.209.26), is down.
    Tuan
    Wrong information!

    DNS work w/o problem
    try 'whois cj.com' and other domains and see:
    ---------------------------------------------
    Domain servers in listed order:

    NS2.MEDIAPLEX.COM 64.70.10.79
    NS1.MEDIAPLEX.COM 64.158.223.64
    --------------------------------------------
    and 'host -v -t ns cj.com 64.158.223.64'

  8. #8
    Full Member TLE's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 21st, 2005
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    338
    Quote Originally Posted by ripe
    Wrong information!
    What's the SOA?

    Tuan
    [url="http://www.wholesaler.com"]Wholesaler.com[/url]

  9. #9
    Full Member TLE's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 21st, 2005
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    338
    Bla:

    nslookup -q=soa cj.com ns1.mediaplex.com

    Server: fs1.snv.mediaplex.com
    Address: 64.158.223.64

    cj.com
    primary name server = ns2.cj.com
    responsible mail addr = techops.cj.com
    serial = 2006050100
    refresh = 14400 (4 hours)
    retry = 900 (15 mins)
    expire = 604800 (7 days)
    default TTL = 300 (5 mins)
    cj.com nameserver = ns2.mediaplex.com
    cj.com nameserver = ns1.mediaplex.com
    ns1.mediaplex.com internet address = 64.158.223.64
    ns2.mediaplex.com internet address = 64.70.10.79

    Tuan
    [url="http://www.wholesaler.com"]Wholesaler.com[/url]

  10. #10
    Member ripe's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    141
    Quote Originally Posted by TLE
    What's the SOA?
    Tuan
    SOA - start of authority.
    Technically it do not have direct relation with self DNS resolving for
    customers.
    Possible CJ use ns2.cj.com as MAIN internal DNS server and as source
    zone information for 'SECONDARY' servers.

    For customers should work only officially authority servers,
    in our case:
    ns1.mediaplex.com.
    ns2.mediaplex.com.

    In any case if you right - you should lost access to CJ after maximum 900 seconds
    see TTL for members.cj.com

  11. #11
    Member ripe's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    141
    Quote Originally Posted by TLE
    Bla:

    nslookup -q=soa cj.com ns1.mediaplex.com

    Server: fs1.snv.mediaplex.com
    Address: 64.158.223.64

    cj.com
    primary name server = ns2.cj.com

    Tuan
    Use correct software.

  12. #12
    Full Member TLE's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 21st, 2005
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    338
    http://www.dnsstuff.com/pages/rfc1912.htm
    Quote Originally Posted by ripe
    In any case if you right - you should lost access to CJ after maximum 900 seconds see TTL for members.cj.com
    I believe you have your definition for TTL crossed w/ Expire, may I refer you to rfc1912 for the applicable definitions?

    Tuan
    [url="http://www.wholesaler.com"]Wholesaler.com[/url]

  13. #13
    Member ripe's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    141
    Quote Originally Posted by TLE
    I believe you have your definition for TTL crossed w/ Expire, may I refer you to rfc1912 for the applicable definitions?
    Tuan
    Yes. TTL - time to live of appropriate records.
    For resolving IP need only NS records.
    Primary source for NS records is ROOT servers:
    for .net/.com - A.GTLD-SERVERS.net and B..., C...,
    with own TTL (typical=172800)

  14. #14
    Full Member TLE's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 21st, 2005
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    338
    Quote Originally Posted by ripe
    Yes. TTL - time to live of appropriate records.
    For resolving IP need only NS records.
    Primary source for NS records is ROOT servers:
    for .net/.com - A.GTLD-SERVERS.net and B..., C...,
    with own TTL (typical=172800)
    How about you knock it off the TTL/Chewbacca stuff?

    Here's the simple definition from the rfc:

    Expire: How long a secondary will still treat its copy of the zone
    data as valid if it can't contact the primary. This value
    should be greater than how long a major outage would typically
    last, and must be greater than the minimum and retry
    intervals, to avoid having a secondary expire the data before
    it gets a chance to get a new copy. After a zone is expired a
    secondary will still continue to try to contact the primary,
    but it will no longer provide nameservice for the zone
    . 2-4
    weeks are suggested values.
    [url="http://www.wholesaler.com"]Wholesaler.com[/url]

  15. #15
    Member ripe's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    141
    Quote Originally Posted by TLE
    How about you knock it off the TTL/Chewbacca stuff?
    Please do not mix TTL of ZONE within AUTHORITATE (PRIMARY/SECONDARY)
    servers in part of refresh zone informations
    and TTL of records (A,MX,NS) within zone used on customer node and/or caching DNS servers for simple expire old records.

    For close question please see result of query
    host -v 'any_tracking_domain'
    and see how to CJ redirect customers requests to akadns.net for resolve of DNS requests.

  16. #16
    ABW Ambassador ticketguyz's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    697
    Dang... I understand absolutely nothing in this interchange...

  17. #17
    Life is Supposed to be Fun! Rexanne's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    12,360
    Quote Originally Posted by ticketguyz
    Dang... I understand absolutely nothing in this interchange...
    Me neither. (I called my computer tech to install a new printer yesterday ... how lame is that level of ignorance of how things work?)

    This thread might as well be in Chinese but it's amusing to try to decipher.
    Peace,

    Rexanne

    Rexanne.com
    Loving Everyone's Child Creates Magic


  18. #18
    Member ripe's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    141
    Quote Originally Posted by ticketguyz
    Dang... I understand absolutely nothing in this interchange...
    Main information - at current time CJ DNS outsourced to akadns.net
    work without any problem.
    The rest of talk about why CJ DNS work in spite of TLE message 'CJ Primary DNS Down'.

  19. #19
    Full Member TLE's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 21st, 2005
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    338
    Quote Originally Posted by ticketguyz
    Dang... I understand absolutely nothing in this interchange...
    Thanks for the opportunity to write a few words in coherent English.

    Background:

    We're discussing CJ's DNS servers, which are individual computers located in California. They (3 of them) are important in that the first step for anyone to get to CJ, using a domain name like www.cj.com (instead of ip numbers) is to ask (one of) these servers for the IP address (hence physical location) of where www.cj.com is located. Sort of like directory assistance giving you the phone number when you give them a name.

    For the net, to co-ordinate as to WHICH name servers should the public go to in looking up a domain name, is the domain registration system. As part of your domain registration, you designate to your registrar (netsol/godaddy) which name servers should answer (be authoritative) for your domain name. Your registrar then upload/send your choice for name servers to the "root servers", a network of servers/machines around the world. First stop for any public dns request is to one of the root server, which will give the name servers to be used in looking up a particular domain name.

    For cj.com, the registrar is Netsol and the name servers are ns1.mediaplex.com and ns2.mediaplex.com:
    http://whois.domaintools.com/cj.com

    Here's an exact lookup for www.cj.com, refresh the page and you'll see different combinations for the first two root servers lookup, and alternating between ns1 and ns2.mediaplex.com:
    http://www.dnsstuff.com/tools/lookup....cj.com&type=A


    The Issue:


    Among name servers for a domain name, one server is designated as the "primary" server.
    To keep the data the same across all name servers, each one knows to go to the primary name server to get its data. For the cj.com, the primary name server is ns2.cj.com (unusual setup since the primary is also/usually designated as one of the name server).

    The issue is that ns2.cj.com is down and that ns1.mediaplex.com and ns2.mediaplex.com is (unsuccessfully) trying to "refresh" its data from ns2.cj.com, every fifteen minutes. If it does not get a good connection/refresh from ns2.cj.com within the next 7 days, it will assume that cj.com is "dead" and that it (ns1.mediaplex.com & ns2.mediaplex.com) should no longer answer dns requests for cj.com. If this happen (in the past about once a year) everything related to cj goes down.

    For the technically inclined, i'm referring to the soa record and the primary name server and retry values.

    ripe's contention is that since we're past the ttl, if it ain't going to work, it shouldn't be working by now. The ttl is actually for OTHER name servers to use as a minimum time to cache/remember the info from a dns request. In summary, you don't want AOL to come to your name server every time one of its member goes to your domain, maybe every 5 to 10 minutes at the minimum.

    Thanks for keeping up with this, here's the final wrap up/print out of the current CJ SOA record:

    cj.com
    primary name server = ns2.cj.com
    responsible mail addr = techops.cj.com
    serial = 2006050100
    refresh = 14400 (4 hours)
    retry = 900 (15 mins)
    expire = 604800 (7 days)
    default TTL = 300 (5 mins)
    cj.com nameserver = ns2.mediaplex.com
    cj.com nameserver = ns1.mediaplex.com
    ns1.mediaplex.com internet address = 64.158.223.64
    ns2.mediaplex.com internet address = 64.70.10.79
    [url="http://www.wholesaler.com"]Wholesaler.com[/url]

  20. #20
    Full Member TLE's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 21st, 2005
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    338
    Quote Originally Posted by ripe
    Main information - at current time CJ DNS outsourced to akadns.net
    Oh, you mean something like the below, with the CNAME to akamai?

    Same issue with ns2 for this tracking domain. Too bad management was sold on akamai but tech didn't set it up to use the robustness.

    Tuan

    ***********


    Searching for www.qksrv.net A record at c.root-servers.net [192.33.4.12]: Got referral to B.GTLD-SERVERS.net. [took 24 ms]
    Searching for www.qksrv.net A record at B.GTLD-SERVERS.net. [192.33.14.30]: Got referral to ns1.mediaplex.com. [took 243 ms]
    Searching for www.qksrv.net A record at ns1.mediaplex.com. [64.158.223.64]: Got CNAME of cjtrack.valueclick.akadns.net. and referral to f.root-servers.net [took 84 ms]
    Searching for cjtrack.valueclick.akadns.net A record at f.root-servers.net [192.5.5.241]: Got referral to J.GTLD-SERVERS.net. [took 67 ms]
    Searching for cjtrack.valueclick.akadns.net A record at J.GTLD-SERVERS.net. [192.48.79.30]: Got referral to usw5.akadns.net. [took 214 ms]
    Searching for cjtrack.valueclick.akadns.net A record at usw5.akadns.net. [63.241.73.200]: Reports cjtrack.valueclick.akadns.net. [took 73 ms]

    nslookup -q=soa qksrv.net ns1.mediaplex.
    com
    Server: fs1.snv.mediaplex.com
    Address: 64.158.223.64

    qksrv.net
    primary name server = ns2.cj.com
    responsible mail addr = techops.cj.com
    serial = 2006020102
    refresh = 7200 (2 hours)
    retry = 900 (15 mins)
    expire = 604800 (7 days)
    default TTL = 600 (10 mins)
    qksrv.net nameserver = ns1.mediaplex.com
    qksrv.net nameserver = ns2.mediaplex.com
    ns1.mediaplex.com internet address = 64.158.223.64
    ns2.mediaplex.com internet address = 64.70.10.79
    [url="http://www.wholesaler.com"]Wholesaler.com[/url]

  21. #21
    Moderator MichaelColey's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Mansfield, TX
    Posts
    16,232
    Thanks for monitoring for this and explaining it in such detail, Tuan!
    Michael Coley
    Amazing-Bargains.com
     Affiliate Tips | Merchant Best Practices | Affiliate Friendly? | Couponing | CPA Networks? | ABW Tips | Activating Affiliates
    "Education is the most powerful weapon which you can use to change the world." Nelson Mandela

  22. #22
    ABW Ambassador Ron Bechdolt's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Affiliateville, USA
    Posts
    7,927
    Gee, and all this time I thought DNS meant Do Not Shake!

    Seriously, is this something we should be worried about? Should we be quickly moving all our links from CJ to another network (yeah, pretty severe, but just how serious is the potential for disaster here)?
    Ron Bechdolt | Affiliate Program Management Consultant
    7 Days A Week Marketing

  23. #23
    Full Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    396
    My view - if someone at CJ goes into the server room and reboots ns2 we'll get back to where we were.

  24. #24
    Full Member TLE's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 21st, 2005
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    338
    Quote Originally Posted by MichaelColey
    Thanks for monitoring for this and explaining it in such detail, Tuan!
    Thanks Michael, and as always, much appreciated coming from you.

    Just trying to give back for so much I've taken from ABW. I've got you guys covered with CJ's dns issues, at least for as long as eBay is with CJ.

    Tuan
    [url="http://www.wholesaler.com"]Wholesaler.com[/url]

  25. #25
    Full Member TLE's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 21st, 2005
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    338
    Quote Originally Posted by micheck
    My view - if someone at CJ goes into the server room and reboots ns2 we'll get back to where we were.
    You're correct micheck, that would be the best thing to do, from our standpoint.

    The confident and straightforward way which ripe brought up akamai made me think about another possiblity, speculative on my part. It may be that ns2 was purposedly taken off line.

    In summary, it maybe that CJ is under the impression that dns has been outsourced to akamai. By the way DNS is currently setup, w/ dns going first to CJ/VC and then to akamai instead of to akamai directly, it would "appear" to CJ that they're using akamai for dns service (and being billed accordingly).

    Add to this the unfortunate fact that ns2.cj.com was an open dns server, so it may had been DOS or was (finally) identified by CJ as a security issue and taken off line.

    It's going to be interesting to see how this will be resolved. It does take alot of faith to look into something which is not apparrently broken.

    Tuan
    [url="http://www.wholesaler.com"]Wholesaler.com[/url]

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Getting a Primary Link for CJ and GAN
    By gcarson in forum Programming / Datafeeds / Tools
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: February 11th, 2012, 08:00 PM
  2. Using links for primary site on all other sites.
    By Success in forum Rakuten LinkShare - LS
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: October 30th, 2004, 12:44 PM
  3. Using links for primary site on all other sites?
    By Success in forum Commission Junction - CJ
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: October 30th, 2004, 12:05 PM
  4. primary axillary hyperhidrosis
    By Adam Ward in forum Virtual Family and Off-Topic
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: July 20th, 2004, 08:49 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •