Unhappy How long does it take to make the first sale?
    Hi,

I'm new to marketing, affiliate marketing and anything that has to do with marketing/selling stuff.

I've done a lot of hard work so far on my new site, but no sale yet :-(

Ive followed all the rules, instructions and all the good advice, but nothing's happening so far. I would attribute it to the fact that my site is brand new, only about say 3 months old since I seriously started working on it.

I feel like I'm working for free, for nothing, literally. Could anyone tell me how long it typically takes to make the first sale, atleast it will keep me hoping that one day it will happen :-)

Thanks

Thumbs up
    Depends on a lot of things. If your traffic is low say <10 a day, you might have to wait months & months.

Early on its important to build your site, get some incoming links, then the traffic and sales should eventually follow.

Thanks. I think i'll probably wait for another 3 months. There are so many hurdles already like,

- people who are tech savvy, who use ad block, or disable javascript, they know it when they are on an affiliate site, especially when they see the kjxwy.com or an affiliatenetwork.com. they dont click on links on an affiliate site , (which doesnt use url redirects) and they discourage affiliate sites, especially in the human edited directories.

- parasiteware and spyware that steal your commission

- spam

I'm probably too late in joining the aff marketing bandwagon

One thing I know though that keeps me posetive is that this world is huge, if there are 10,000 geeks, then there are 300,000 non-geeks who wouldn't look at affiliate mareting like its something bad.

I've read alot about the benefits of redirecting pages, but my pages which are doing the most increase in sales right now are hand-rolled w/ no redirect, so I think I'll leave as is.