New here: Trying to learn about work flow!
    I have been dabbling in affiliate programs now and then for the past 10 years or so, starting with Amazon way back when. Now, I'm starting a new site and getting a little more serious about the whole thing and I'm glad I found this site.

My main question is: How do most people create their affiliate links? Do most of you log-in to Linkshare, CJ, Amazon, etc, and create all the links manually?

My site deals with specific product recommendations and my main hangup about Linkshare and CJ is their complicated linking system (and their fairly slow websites).

Are there software packages available to create links, especially when the links aren't the usual banner ads, but one-time product links?

ABW Ambassador
    For product links using datafeeds, check out Webmerge:

http://forum.abestweb.com/forumdisplay.php?f=194

You can hunt with a rifle (hand made pages)
    or with a shotgun (datafeed pages)
    But you need to add a unique angle, gimmick, or content (especially) to do well.

SEO: A Specialty - Web Design: Slow or outsourced andbeyond's Avatar
    The Call is coming from Inside the House!
    I think this is one of the hard things about being an affiliate. It really comes down to making a process, making it repeatable, and effective in web design and SEO. In business school they say to break down jobs into parts that are about equal in time or effort so that you can do them seperatly and move the order around. So if one step is ridicously long, break it into smaller parts. I usually try making a page with the best practices and tools I know and time the steps. Then I see how long the whole thing will take for the number of pages.
    Is this doable?
    Is it worth my time?
    Do I need to reduce time?