New to CJ, Please Help
    Hello,

Im new to the CJ world. I was hoping someone could help me with a few questions. First of all, can you actually turn a profit using google adwords to market products? If yes, what is a good way to pick a product to market? In addition to that, I have noticed that the Keyword links generally go to a stores home page. If I wanted to market an individual product, would I be able to use the http:// portion of a text link without the image url? I know that CJ says that tracking wont work if you dont have all of the code within your link. I did try using just the product url portion of the code and it seemed to track the clicks, but without any sales yet, Im apprehensive about paying for overly expensive hits to test this theory anymore.

Thanks for any Help!

John

Welcome to ABW, John.

To answer one of your questions: CJ's merchants may have individual product links you can use -- you have to look there.

Re CPC, I don't do it yet but I note there are many cautions about it and that it may be best to do some careful homework.

Some here remove the image tracking portion of a link set but isn't it important to know a link was seen?

Yes, adwords is a good way to turn a profit with affiliate programs. However, you just seemed to have stepped into it at the most inappropriate time. Google (as of yesterday) has implemented a new quality score algorithm for landing pages.

What's this mean? Unless you build a site deemed suitable by G, you're likely not to turn a profit at all, but take a good hit in the wallet. Keywords have increased to rediculous amounts (like 5-10 dollars a click). This isn't so that G makes more money, but simply to keep the low-quality sites out from their system.

You can read more about it here: http://forum.abestweb.com/showthread...259#post584259

Don't forget about the other ad systems out there though. MSN is doing somewhat well for me, although it doesn't get as much traffic as some of my Adwords campaigns.