Hee Haw State!
    Photographer Needs Your Opinion on Marketing Mailer!!!
    Hey -

I'm a photographer (we only shoot on location - mostly in NY and TX). We are focusing on the small TX town where we are based. There are about 100,000 people here & the next town is over 80 miles away - to give you an idea.

My business is about 8 months old - we have yellow pages, website, and do cross marketing with several wedding vendors in town. So far that has gotten us several weddings each month, but my ideal (by far - ever seen Bridezillas?) is infant and childrens portraiture. So, we are attempting to target that demographic (parents of infants and children).

We decided to try an oversized postcard that will be mailed AND it will be displayed in a few upscale children's clothing stores on an easel. This oversized postcard is around 8" x 5.5" or so, with one of our images and a little info on front with the details on the back. There are 2 different versions so far - only one layout will be mailed.

(The color on here will be darker than normal due to compression).

Marketing Proof #1:

Something about this bugs me. I think the focus should be and is on the baby. Do you think that is where it should be? I thought 'Yes' since the portrait is the product we are selling. But, what do I know???

Marketing Proof# 2:

I'm not sure what I think about this one... I thought our company name needed to be more prominent - so its at the top. (I'm stuck with this font currently since it is an attempt at name recognition and is on multiple products - which we seem to have). Suggestions?

My plan (after getting the best layout possible on the card - info and asthetics) is to mail them to the correct demographic using my handwriting font on the back of the post card to make the postcards more personable. (I'm sure you seasoned marketing peeps are all laughing about this - so tell me if its worth it)