Buying Software Vs. Hiring Designer
    Hey Guys,

I'm going to need to redesign my site to be more professional looking (microsoft publisher isn't cutting it). Right now I could either spend about 400 dollars hiring a designer to put up a template for me with dreamweaver and photoshop and putting my content in so it looks good.

On the other hand, I could just use my student discount and buy dreamweaver and photoshop for 515, as well as:

"Flash® Professional 8, Fireworks® 8, Contribute™ 3, and FlashPaper™ 2 software. Illustrator® CS2, InDesign® CS2, GoLive® CS2, and Acrobat® 7.0 Professional software with Version Cue® CS2, Adobe Bridge, and Adobe Stock Photos." Included in a bundle.

Now I admit I have little experience in web design and dont' know what most of those programs do, let alone how to use them. In the long run, would I be better off hiring a designer to do all that for me, or spending a little more initially on the software and learning it to develop it myself, using the templates which I can find on my own? Is this software that hard to learn? Thanks.

What are your goals?

If you'd like to make money immediately then hire a designer.

If you'd like the process to be more hands-on and you would like to learn how to use the software, perhaps you could pay the designer to make a few pieces of key graphics so that you would have the flexibility to learn: this way your site could grow with you

The software takes a while to learn but learning how to use the software will provide pleasure and enjoyment in the long run.

If you can take advantage of a student discount on software, then go for it!
    See if there are web design and graphic classes available.
    ~Rhia7 -- Remember the 7
    Twitter me