Shop.com inquiry
    Has anyone worked with shop.com before? Specifically with their datafeeds but their coupons as well. Was your experience good or bad? I couldn't find a forum for them here. Thanks for your input.

Merchant & ABW Ambassador
    Nope. sorry.

they basically get a data feed from merchants and upload it to their site and restribute it. It is like amazon.

Being a merchant that shop.com approached us, they were very demading in terms of asking for like XX% commission on each sale. It was way above than our margin but they have a good biz plan.

Speaking of margins! I have over forty years experience in the retail industry and know margins. How can a merchant afford to pay.
    1. The network- they also receive a commission on a purchase.
    2. The affiliate - 10% plus.
    3. Offer coupons,specials and pay all the shipping costs.
    All this adds up to someone getting cut out of their share( I wonder who)
    I still can't see a profit margin for all this for the merchant.

Merchant & ABW Ambassador
    it depends.

How much is a new customer worth to you? If you know how to run a biz in a lean manner, the 1st sale is usually a lost.
    Have all the marketing elements aligned together and over the years/months, you will make your money back.

Some people hit the BEP for 1st sale but some lose $, but it's the lifetime value of the new customer that is critical

Affiliate Manager
    As a merchant, we had great success. Solid dollars, low hassle, they are my first choice for CSE. Great folks to work with.