Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Data Feeds: Are they worth it?
    I have gotten a couple of requests for data feeds lately and from what I've read they sound like they might be a bit of a pain in the ass to make and maintain.

Are they "difficult" to create? Should I even bother if I'm running a an affiliate program with around 13,000 members?

They are incredibly worthwhile. Many power affiliates use them.

If they sound like a pain to make and maintain, you don't have a good tech person. They should be virtually automated.
    Michael Coley
    Amazing-Bargains.com
     Affiliate Tips | Merchant Best Practices | Affiliate Friendly? | Couponing | CPA Networks? | ABW Tips | Activating Affiliates
    "Education is the most powerful weapon which you can use to change the world." Nelson Mandela

I am a newbie, and have found a good use for them.

I especially like 4th click feeds, they are providing me with service, updating and hosting the data that's a lot of work for just 1 person to accomplish in a month.

Especially considering the fact that there are 100s of merchants.

Agree with Michael. Unless you just have a few items and only take orders via email with "Hey, I'd like one of those 12 inch knives with black plastic handles for $8" ... you have a feed available somewhere.

Yes. Do it. You need one.
    Kevin Webster
    twitter: levelanalytics

Kayak Fishing
    Web Analytics and Affiliate Marketing

I suggest you create a feed that will work on all the major price comparison engines. Be sure to include as much information as you can in order to have your products easily findable in these engines. Once you've had some success with that you can open it up to some of your more advanced affiliates and work from there. I can't stress how important some information is like UPC codes, model numbers, full categories, manufacturers, thumbnails, etc. The more information you include the more can be done with it.

- Scott