Hi,

I am a student in California. I join CJ.com and I pay a Canadian company to promote my web site. How should I declare my personal income tax?? Another CJ account, I don't even use my name since the check is paid to the Canadian company....

The problems:
    1. CJ issue checks to me and report my Social Security Number. Assume I get $5,000 from CJ and pay $4,500 to the Canadian company as marketing cost, do I get taxed $5,000 or $4,500?

2. I open another CJ account using my Social Security Number but the "PAYEE" is the Canadian company. Since I am just a part-time agent for this company, they will pay me 10% of the check every month.

The reason is simple. I'm just a person and I won't be able to make $10,000/year on my own.
    My so called "tax advisor" suggest that I pay tax on $5,000 income, which is ridiculous! What supporting document is needed to declare the cost? What document I need to request from the Canadian company??

I know many affiliates have to pay Overture, fastclick etc to get traffic. Some affiliates even pay 90% of the CJ income to pay CPC cost... How do you declare those cost?? Wouldn't IRR going to ask a lot of questions?

[ 04-11-2002: Message edited by: hope4you ]

Does your tax advisor work for the IRS by any chance? [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif[/img]

I'm in the UK so theres a limit to how much I can help, but one thing I do know is that you pay tax on your income, not your turnover.

I think the other Americans here are all asleep at the moment, because they keep strange hours, but no doubt they'll wake up later and give you more info.

I

You situation seems a little more complicated than mine, maybe it isn't but it seems that way.