CJ Protected Vs Restricted Keywords
    I am new to CJ and I am looking at bidding on some keywords for direct PPC.

I recently discovered the keyword link for PPC rules. Can anyone explain the difference between "Protected Keywords" and "Non Compete Keywords"?

I tried a search in CJ and here but didn't find anything.

Also, I am wondering if there is any flexibility in the Protected or Non Compete keywords, e.g. if only "big green widgets" is specified, does that mean I can bid on "green big widgets" or "big green widget".

Thanks!

Verbosely Virtuous Mutt spacedog's Avatar
    mr_jones, welcome to the forum!

I've noticed over my year or so as an affiliate with CJ that "protected" and "non-compete" keywords seem to be interchangeable and that most merchants don't appear to see any difference between them when they post their rules to affiliates. Usually between what the merchant posts in the Advertiser Detail main page for their company, and what they put in the Keyword Link, it's pretty much intuitive what you should not be bidding on via PPC campaigns. It's usually trademarked keywords that they don't want affiliates to bid on, and occasionally in the same area they'll have their policy about PPC ad text and display URLs that affiliates cannot use (again, usually the company's trademarks).

I don't pay much attention anymore as to where the info is, whether it's "protected" or "non-compete". Just what the text in these fields states. If anyone else wants to elaborate with more info on the subtle differences, feel free. I suspect that if there is a real difference, merchants tend to not know it either. Usually merchants only put in something in one of the two fields, and sometimes they just duplicate what's in one field to the other.