Which Affiliate Solution for new merchant?
    I have a client launching a new e-commerce site, and I'm trying to update my knowledge about each of the options for implementing an affiliate program. (We will not do business with CJ or LinkShare, period.)

About a year ago, I concluded that ShareASale seemed to be the best bet for a low-cost implementation, with the main "problems" being (1) affiliate links are redirected and thus don't help Google PageRank, and (2) the solution relies on third-party cookies. The entry cost and minimum-fee levels seem acceptable. ShareResults appears to have a rate structure similar to SAS, and I see no advantage to their solution. I suspect that SAS may still be my ultimate recommendation.

For a direct solution, I would have immediately suggested Kowabunga (MyAP) but I know their rate structure was raised substantially last year, so I doubt they are affordable at this stage. DirectTrack might be a reasonable option, but I have no experience with them -- I'd love to hear some feedback from other merchants and affiliates.

One "extra issue" is that the client plans to change their hosting solution in January (from Yahoo Merchant Solutions/PHP to an internally hosted Windows/ASP solution), so we need to anticipate any extra costs or issues that might result. We also need to make sure that the solution we choose will work with a Yahoo-hosted site that does NOT use the "Yahoo Store" technology.

What options should I consider?

I am sure that others can speak more about some of this than me, but let me say I find Kowabunga (MyAP) cumbersome to use, even for someone who has done this for years. From the affiliate side I much more prefer SAS's interface with affiliates. Very easy to get affiliates on board and links up.
    Ron Bechdolt | Affiliate Program Management Consultant
    7 Days A Week Marketing

Quote Originally Posted by markwelch