Buying Hits, Pop Ups, Email Marketing, AdSense and Link Exchanges
    Hello,

I'm new to this business but I really want to give it a try because I want to be my own boss. I have a website but I do not receive hits as I thought I would. I do have a few questions.

Hits for your website
    I've seen a lot of companies offering you the opportunity to buy hits. For example, 'You can buy 100,000 hits for only $49.95!' This is hard to believe. How would they do this?

Pop Up Marketing
    This seems to me like a waste of time because I hate pop ups. Why would I pay a company to make my website visible with Pop ups? I think this would make my website's reputation go down the drain. Thoughts?

Email Marketing
    Whenever I receive emails like this I consider it junk email. I would consider anyone sending me emails like this as spam. Thoughts?

AdSense
    Does anyone really make money with this?

Link Exchanges
    I heard SE's like only quality links. Does this qualify as links or just a waste of time?

Does any of this really work or are they all not worth the effort?
    Any advice is appreciated.

Regards,

The Yellow Monkey

The only two the "might" be worth the money are adsense and email.

Adsense has the tendency to eat your bank account if you are not carefully managing it.

As for email, there are ways to buy in to opt in lists (usually someone else's big newsletter list) and send out ads. These can be effective and are not "technically" spam, though they may be unwanted.

The other way is to start an informative newsletter of your own and grow it with good content. That way, you've got your own platform for product announcements, sales, etc...

--Jason
    Jason Rosenbaum
    Affiliate Manager
    MINDsprinting

Adsense has the tendency to eat your bank account if you are not carefully managing it.
    Do you mean Adword?

Adsense may make you money, but it won't eat your bank account.