Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 44
  1. #1
    Full Member Crocket's Avatar
    Join Date
    September 11th, 2006
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    420
    Make A Page, Down for Maint?
    I have tried since yesterday morning to use "Make A Page"

    I am able to select the merchant, and the settings such as price etc, but instead of giving me the HTML results I get a page telling me "down for maint"

    I would rather see "down for maint" before I make a selections, that way I don't spend time working on the settings for the HTML.

    Is is just me that this is happening with, am I just going

    When will it be safe to go back and try again lol

  2. #2
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    4,053
    Yep, still down for maintenance my guess is it's probably for improvements.

  3. #3
    Advocate mellie's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Here
    Posts
    1,925
    LOL I just put a little note on my monitor to stop trying and give it a couple hours. I am so caught up in redoing a site that I keep forgeting. I get all excited thinking it's working.

  4. #4
    Full Member
    Join Date
    September 10th, 2005
    Posts
    369
    Maybe someone at SAS can give us an ETA on when it will be available?

  5. #5
    Full Member Crocket's Avatar
    Join Date
    September 11th, 2006
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    420
    I just checked, its still down

    Yep I hope SAS will give us some info soon.

  6. #6
    AM Navigator Geno Prussakov's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 10th, 2005
    Location
    Washington D.C. Metro Area
    Posts
    11,798
    Without any intention to de-rail the thread: Crocket, did you see that you've won the main prize in the photo contest?!?!

  7. #7
    Full Member Crocket's Avatar
    Join Date
    September 11th, 2006
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    420
    me? where? lol

  8. #8
    AM Navigator Geno Prussakov's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 10th, 2005
    Location
    Washington D.C. Metro Area
    Posts
    11,798
    Quote Originally Posted by Crocket
    me? where? lol
    The forum you're in now...

  9. #9
    Full Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    309
    Still down. Please say it is to fix the "all merchants results" glitch. This fix would be perfect timing for all the halloween costume sales that are fixing to kick in next week!

  10. #10
    What's the word? Rhia7's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 13th, 2006
    Posts
    9,578
    Quote Originally Posted by porkchop
    Still down. Please say it is to fix the "all merchants results" glitch. This fix would be perfect timing for all the halloween costume sales that are fixing to kick in next week!
    Ummmmm -- this has been a problem for a long time

    I tried to alert the powers that be (I've started similar posts about this topic)

    If the costume and Halloween related (i.e. Corpse Bride Dolls and other collectibles that sell at Halloween) don't have their act together in time for Halloween, I'll be a "cockeyed optimist" and hope that the Santa Claus suits are ready by Christmas
    ~Rhia7 -- Remember the 7
    Twitter me

  11. #11
    Full Member
    Join Date
    September 10th, 2005
    Posts
    369
    Yeah, I would really really like to add to my halloween site soon. Come on guys, any info on when it will be up.

  12. #12
    Newbie
    Join Date
    October 7th, 2006
    Posts
    29
    Still not working. Curious whether there will be a new feature.

  13. #13
    Full Member
    Join Date
    September 10th, 2005
    Posts
    369
    I wonder if there is a way for them to keep a stable version running, while upgrading / fixing a newer version?

  14. #14
    Newbie
    Join Date
    October 7th, 2006
    Posts
    29
    Well, dpl882, that would be the usual way - work on a test server and let the production server run, than update the production server.
    Who knows why they don't do it like this.

  15. #15
    Full Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    284
    I can't understand an application being down for maintenace. The stable version runs on the production system and the beta runs on the test bed. Roll out the beta and if it has problems backout the beta and return to the stable version.

    Could you imagine all our systems being down for maintenance while Microsoft rolls out the next set of changes..... errr, bad example
    CharPaula
    Staying focused on the bottomline

  16. #16
    Full Member Crocket's Avatar
    Join Date
    September 11th, 2006
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    420
    It has been 2 days since I posted this message, the make a page is still down, and we are still in the dark.

    The lack of communication to the users concerns me. I know this is a weekend, but someone had to "trigger" the "Down For Maintance" at SAS. I would have thought a message here on the board, or on the blog alerting us as well as a estimated downtime would/should have taken place.

    Yesterday someone from SAS was showing at the top of this thread, so I know OR at least assume they read this post. The lack of a reply from them does irritate me a bit. Just a simple "we know its down" "we are working on it" "it will be back soon" or "ya'll are crazy its working from our end"...

  17. #17
    ShareASale President/CEO and ABW Veteran Brian - ShareASale's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    3,657
    Yes, we are aware the page is down for maintenance/upgrades/etc... The datafeeds are still available as usual, which is a good way to get the data that you need for your halloween sites, etc... If there was a way we could leave it up while working on a new version I would have done that but at this time we needed to take the feature down until we could work through a few issues.
    Thanks,

    Brian Littleton
    President/CEO - ShareASale.com, Inc.

  18. #18
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    4,053
    Brian, an email or notice prominently displayed on the site would be nice. Meantime for the downtime, it's an opportunity to see what pages need tweaking or fixing - especially ones that haven't been worked on for close to a year.

  19. #19
    Full Member Crocket's Avatar
    Join Date
    September 11th, 2006
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    420
    Thank You Brian,

    as for datafeeds, I am ashamed to say...too dumb to do them

    As for Make A Page, can you offer an estimated time that it will be back in operation?

  20. #20
    Full Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    309
    I'm in the same boat as Crocket. I haven't had time to learn datafeeds so I am highly dependable on make-a-page.

    This is a great feature for those who have never tried it!

  21. #21
    Full Member clyderose's Avatar
    Join Date
    November 29th, 2005
    Location
    In the Green Country
    Posts
    311
    while its down for upgrades, the affiliates have no other choice but to use webmerge which is currently being promoted by shareasale

    what a coincidence!
    [B][URL=http://ablogfullofgames.blogspot.com/]Blog Games[/URL]
    [URL="http://fractalenlightenment.blogspot.com"][COLOR="Red"]Our Blog[/COLOR][/URL][/B]

  22. #22
    Advocate mellie's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Here
    Posts
    1,925
    To use a data feed without webmerge download the data feed, unzip it and open with excel. Then use the find function in excel to search by keyword, product name whatver; use find all. Then check out each item to see if it's what you want. Everything you need is there. To make it easier to look at I look at each find by copying it to note pad, easier to read.

    Takes a little more work but it's doable. Not perfect but good for smaller jobs. I've been using this to update some pages.

    Don't forget to change userid to your id#.

  23. #23
    Newbie
    Join Date
    December 6th, 2005
    Posts
    2
    How much longer is the page maker to be down? It seems to be down more often now. Just was wanting to know as it is one of the best features around compared to the other affiliate/merchant networks. It is the main reason I use Sharesale links over the others.

    Stacey

  24. #24
    ShareASale President/CEO and ABW Veteran Brian - ShareASale's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    3,657
    Everyone,

    The Make-A-Page is being worked on as fast as we can. In its current state it causes other parts of the site to lose stability...so we don't want it to do that.

    It will return with fanfare when it is ready.
    Thanks,

    Brian Littleton
    President/CEO - ShareASale.com, Inc.

  25. #25
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    4,053
    In the meantime, there's a back door workaround for grabbing individual product links if the feeds that supply them aren't too big

    http://forum.abestweb.com/showthread.php?t=79945

    Rudimentary at best, though it does work - just not well enough for merchants with BIG feeds. But even getting a few links can be supplemented by using the custom linking tool that we can use to create a deep link to any page on a merchant's site.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Multi-merchant page with Make-A-Page tool
    By federico09 in forum ShareASale - SAS
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: May 8th, 2009, 09:49 PM
  2. New to Make-A-Page ...
    By jrotem in forum ShareASale - SAS
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: October 25th, 2006, 08:11 AM
  3. Make a Page
    By jackson992 in forum ShareASale - SAS
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: January 9th, 2006, 09:15 AM
  4. Make a Page - How to?
    By vita in forum ShareASale - SAS
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: June 18th, 2005, 09:08 PM
  5. Looking For A Laserjet Maint. Kit Merchant
    By Doug247 in forum Midnight Cafe'
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: August 19th, 2004, 07:41 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •