Question Clicks without sales - when to get curious?
    I have a bit of a beginner's conundrum. I've only made a handful of sales in the past few months (primarily through Shareasale and Linkshare), but I've had close to zero success with CJ. Today I decided to take a closer look at my stats with them, and I found that for October, I've sent 207 clicks through to my CJ merchants, with no sales.

Now, because I'm still learning, I have no idea whether this is cause for concern or not. I'm not sure whether I should be worried about potential cookie overwriting, potential tracking problems, merchants that don't convert - or not worried at all. Is ~200 clicks with no sales normal? Maybe I'm way off, and even ~10,000 clicks with no sales is actually normal...but I thought I should check with those who know!

I'd love to hear some words of wisdom about where I should go from here, if someone would be generous enough to share! Thanks!

Lite On The Do, Heavy On The Nuts Donuts's Avatar
    i'd say (but it's just a guess cuz there's not enough details for me to get a solid feeling for your situation) that ~200 clicks with multiple merchants isn't a sign of anything yet - depends on how many merchants you have, what you're selling and how targeted your traffic is.

Conversion rates (the ratio of sales to clicks) vary widely depending on the kind of web site (the "context"), the kind of ad ("offer"), and the merchant.

I have (very few) links that perform at conversions of 30% -- where the site or page topic is tightly aligned with the merchant's product offerings, the ad text is extremely specific (thus the buyer is "pre-qualified"), and the merchant does a good job of converting prospects into customers.