Tax and info question for Florida Ecommerce
    I am looking to start a new E-commerce website, but I am not sure if I should register as a sole proprietor or a LLC. I am a Business college student and have only taken 2 Accounting classes so I am not one that knows a lot about updated taxes and business laws.

Also I have noticed a lot of affiliate programs ask me for either my tax id or SSN. I really don't feel comfortable given out my SSN since I have been a victim of check fraud and identity theft. And I do not have a TAX ID.

Does anyone in Florida have any advice? Remember I am a college student, I want to pay as little in taxes, but at the same time stay legit.

Affiliate Manager Matt McWilliams's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Davecore
    I really don't feel comfortable given out my SSN since I have been a victim of check fraud and identity theft.
    I don't blame you on this one...

My advice is to get a tax ID...simple as that may sound. It's free and you get get a DBA (doing Business As) checking account on a individual account (read: free checking) at most banks with this. I am not sure about state laws, but I am fairly certain that federally, if you operate the business as being self-employed, you don't pay anymore taxes than normal (unless you count paying both portions of Social Security, which we both know is paid by the employee either way)
    Matt McWilliams
    Call Me At: (317) 825-8826 | Follow Me On Twitter: @MattMcWilliams2 | Connect With Me On LinkedIn

Quote Originally Posted by MattMcWilliams
    My advice is to get a tax ID