Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Affiliate Manager Matt McWilliams's Avatar
    Google, Yahoo, MSN Make our lives easier
    I will leave the article to 'splain things.

Does anyone think this will be a big deal?

http://news.yahoo.com/s/afp/20061116...tyleusinternet
    Matt McWilliams
    Call Me At: (317) 825-8826 | Follow Me On Twitter: @MattMcWilliams2 | Connect With Me On LinkedIn

ABW Ambassador
    I read that but didn't quite understand what the big deal is. I've always used sitemaps, they're just pages with links. So search engines have never had a problem crawling and indexing my sites.

I agree it is a non issue
    Vinny O'Hare - OPM - Contact Info email: vinny at teamloxly.com ~ 702-582-6742 Twitter

Though I may be a bit paranoid, I never submit a site map to Google for any of my sites. Google supposedly wants to serve up natural search results without webmasters figuring out how to job the rankings, so if I send them a site map, I am announcing that I am a webmaster and hence am trying to job the rankings. If I can't set up my internal links and the links coming to my site in a way to get my whole site regularly indexed, then I should find another way to make money than webmastering. Just my 2 pennies

2005 Linkshare Golden Link Award Winner  ecomcity's Avatar
    Never -Ever submit any .XML sitemap file to any Search Engine if your existing site is already indexed and has PR rank. Guaranteed to get you into the supplimental black hole, especially if site scrapers target your content. Only benefit is for sites with dynamic generated content or shopping cart pages totally blind to regular SE BOT indexing.
    Webmaster's... Mike and Charlie

"What have you done today to put real value into a referral click...from a shoppers viewpoint!"

Quote Originally Posted by TrustNo1