Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Hard Evidence that Some CJ Product Links do not Track
    If you are concerned that links may not be tracking, the best test is to place an actual order and see the results. I did that last Friday with one of my CJ Advertisers and found that the order went through but I did not receive credit. This was with an Advertiser that uses batch processing so I had to wait until Sunday to see the results. I did receive credit for some orders for that merchant on Friday but not the one I had placed. It confirmed what I already suspected, that some, possibly many orders were not being tracked.

I started playing detective, what are the conditions in which some orders track properly and some do not? I use SIDs and they gave me the evidence. The orders that I received credit for over the last 5 weeks were either from banner links or product links that were created several months ago. I had added many product links in early November and had received zero sales from those links. Zero, zip, I could not believe it!

It had to be the link itself. What had changed? I discovered that in the new product links, instead of using the retailers website in the url, the links go to tracking.searchmarketing.com. Who are they and why are the links going there? I have been in touch with both CJ and the Advertiser and both say that tracking.searchmarketing.com is not from them. All of the links in question were created from the CJ interface using Get HTML.

So check your CJ product links. If any of them use tracking.searchmarketing.com be very suspicious, they may not work.

Note, I work with several CJ merchants and have only discovered the problem to be with one merchant.

Second note, I believe the merchant to be ethical and they are working with me to find a way to compensate me for the untracked sales.

Not that I don't feel for your situation, but you say it's just 1 merchant, and unless you tell us what merchant, it just doesn't help us much.

Discovery Channel