Troll Killer and best Snooper!
    I decide when the pigs fly!
    Yet another reason to hate Amazon
    Hubby and I sat down tonight to review the Amazon wish lists of his family. We chose items, put them in a shopping cart and proceeded to checkout.

Guess what?

Every single item on our list came up, "Will ship between 12/27 and 1/4." So with standard shipping it's guaranteed to not arrive until 2007!!!

It's not like we waited until the last minute to shop, it's only December 8th. If I had any freaking Amazon links on my sites I'd pull 'em now.

:muttering: Incompetent nincompoops.

What kinds of items were these? I've not had this kind of experience with Amazon.

Certainly, there are some items that they don't stock and which they promise to ship in "several" weeks. When I was working as a teacher, I learned that nearly all books published by the "National Council of Teachers of English" [NCTE] were only available from Amazon with a promise that they would be shipped in "2 to 3 weeks," and Amazon charged list price; NCTE gave its members a nice discount off list price, and shipped the same or next day.

I've bought a lot of books "from or through" Amazon.com (including Marketplace purchases), and I've generally been satisfied. However, if Amazon charges list price, or if I think I can find a lower price elsewhere, or if Amazon doesn't have the item in stock, I gladly buy the item elsewhere.

As an Amazon affiliate, I'm pleased to notice that I am now just 7 items away from earning a whopping 7.5% on all items sold during the current quarter (about 70% books). Yes, they pay crappy commissions, but I must admit that the conversion rate is higher than any other "regular" bookseller I've ever sent customers to.

Life is Supposed to be Fun! Rexanne's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by markwelch
    Yes, they pay crappy commissions, but I must admit that the conversion rate is higher than any other "regular" bookseller I've ever sent customers to.