A little content help
    I hear a lot of veterans of affiliating talk about "creating a content site". What is meant by that? Is it a site that is mostly words? Is it writing information on the products you sell? I don't have products, so I can not write reviews. These same veterans talk about the pitfalls of ppc advertising and its dangers. How do I get away from ppc and still have shoppers? I don't mean to sound dumb, but I am new to this and want to learn as much as possible so my site can be a productive source of income. I do appreciate advice and criticism from folks that have succeeded in this field.

Thanx,

Donnie

You've got the idea down, though there are lots of different content sites.

Basically though, content is about giving your users the information they want. Here are the basica categories as I see them:

Sales content:

This is the type most popular here (especially with a few people). Basically it is fleshed out sales copy. Instead of one sentence about each product, you've got a paragraph. For special products, or groups of products, you've got a whole page of info. How it works, how it looks, what it does, etc...

Added into this might be buying guides. Either gift guides for certain types of people, or information (how to buy a car online, etc...)

Then you've got the article content:

These are basically article sites. Can be news, can be articles collected on a specific topic, can be a blog...anything that is basically articles. How the affiliate links get worked in there varies. There may be a sales pitch tacked on the end, or relevent ads around the articles. It varies.

Now, to get content sites to work you really have to make the content good. If you are going for sales content, it really has to make someone want the product. If you are going for article content, you really have to know what you are writing about.