Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    November 1st, 2005
    Posts
    2,064
    commissionmonster.com Images DEAD
    Hello,
    I tried sending this to their suppoort but as expected I get an error aggghhh!!!


    I have tried adding some 120x60 images from various merchants in the commissionmonster.com network but none of them work. Seems to be a major bug in their system & you even see they are dead when previewing the image in the CM control panel.

    here is an example image src

    http://members.commissionmonster.com/42/3201/5591
    Hosting Discounts from Professional Rates Hosts - Deals and Coupons on Domain Names from GoDadday, Namecheap, Domain.com and more top registers.

  2. #2
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    November 1st, 2005
    Posts
    2,064
    whats up with all these aussie networks and some really bad bugs in the systems I have tried... so annoying, CJ etc is like a dream compared to working with this crap...!!
    Hosting Discounts from Professional Rates Hosts - Deals and Coupons on Domain Names from GoDadday, Namecheap, Domain.com and more top registers.

  3. #3
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    November 1st, 2005
    Posts
    2,064
    Can someone that is joined up with this outfit please try something out for me. I can't see their images they have when getting the image code and they blame it on me but I'm 100% sure it's an issue with them. They are very arrogant and decided that it is all my fault and didn't even reply to my email after I sent all the details on what is happening. Is there anyone else here that has an account with them, if so I will post what I would like you to do to check if it happens with you as well?

    Here is a piece of Code I get but when I view the webpage to get this code the image is dead plus when I preview the image it is also dead.

    <a type="image/gif" href="http://members.commissionmonster.com/z/72652/3201/"> <img alt="" src="http://members.commissionmonster.com/42/3201/72652" width=" 468" height=" 60" border="0" /></a>
    Can someone please try this and let me know

    I think I will post the complete story:


    First I wrote to them letting them know I'm not able to see the images...

    Hello, I have tried adding some 120x60 images from various merchants in your network but none of them work. Seems to be a major bug in your system & you even see they are dead when previewing the image in the CM control panel. here is an example image: I CAN'T SEND EXAMPLE AS YOUR FORM DOES NOT ALLOW IT!!!
    There response:

    Thank you for your email. I have logged in under your account and viewed the following 120x60 banners; ‘Urban Baby’, ‘What do you think’, and ‘Teleflora.’ They all displayed within your admin area and also when I tested them as HTML in an Internet Explorer browser.

    Can you please tell me exactly which campaigns you had trouble with? Also, if you could take a look at the above campaigns and let me know what you get. At this stage, we have had no such feedback from other Affiliates. If you still have problems you could send me a screen shot of what you are seeing.

    If you have any further queries please don’t hesitate to contact me.

    My reply:

    Hello,

    I guess your from CommissionMonster although I see no reference to them in your email or contact details?

    You are referencing merchants I'm not even signed up with... I have taken a screenshot of what I see just on the page I click to retrieve the code:

    Here is the page for a 120x60 button for DriveNow - I'm sure all my merchants are the same.... You can even see the image not even working here & if use the code given it is also a dead image.
    * See attachment

    There response:

    Viva9 is the parent company of Commission Monster. The screen shot below is what I see when I log into your account as you and access the same creative. When I copy the HTML it also displays properly in a browser. Unfortunately I do not have an explanation. It appears an error is originating from your end.
    attches screenshot fo his computer

    my response:

    I can see the image on the page before it fine but only on this page it never works plus if I copy the code & preview that it does not work. I see every other image on the web fine except for this....

    I really doubt it is from my end, try checking it outside your own server environment.

    there response:

    The way we access the creative is the same way as any other affiliate. We are not directly linked to the server. These are some options you could try;



    · Log into your admin area via another computer and different connection.

    · Try right clicking on the image and ‘show picture’

    · Try clearing your cache and re-starting your computer

    · Copy the image tag and paste it into Notepad and save the file as .html file and view the saved file.



    If it is still not working let me know and I will see what else I can do. In the interim I can only suggest you don’t use 120x60 banners.
    so it's all my fault... my reply

    I'm not pulling your leg here & these images are not working period, I'm not a newbie to this sort of thing, have been a web developer since 1996. That aside I know that I can still make simple mistakes but I have thoroughly checked this and there definitely is a problem from your website and it is not my computer like you seem to believe.

    It's not only 120x60 images either, it's all of the images including 468x60 etc

    When I view the image on the first merchant page where I can see all of the banners etc and I right click the image & get properties I can see the image url is different than the one I'm given on the next page when I go to the code page. The image on the page has extra characters in the URL.

    For example if I click "Lastminute.com.au" and go to the merchant page I can see an image for ID number: 72652
    http://members.commissionmonster.com/pix/banners/72652

    I then click the "Get Links" link and on that page I'm taken to with the code etc I see the dead image, I then right click the properties for that and the image properties is different:
    http://members.commissionmonster.com/42/3201/72652

    The code I'm given is this:

    <a type="image/gif" href="http://members.commissionmonster.com/z/72652/3201/"> <img alt="" src="http://members.commissionmonster.com/42/3201/72652" width=" 468" height=" 60" border="0" /></a>

    If I enter http://members.commissionmonster.com/pix/banners/72652 in my browser and press enter I see the image

    If I enter http://members.commissionmonster.com/42/3201/72652 in my browser and press enter I see messed up code!

    Take a deeper look and you will see that I'm right & you are wrong although it may be difficult to comprehend that but thats how it is.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by glittered; January 10th, 2007 at 07:13 AM.
    Hosting Discounts from Professional Rates Hosts - Deals and Coupons on Domain Names from GoDadday, Namecheap, Domain.com and more top registers.

  4. #4
    Newbie
    Join Date
    December 12th, 2006
    Posts
    31
    hey glinted your code is showing the image for me and all other commissionmonster images seem to be working fine.

  5. #5
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    November 1st, 2005
    Posts
    2,064
    Really well that's weird, so I guess that would only mean my ISP has blacklisted them? I think they do have porn merchants so maybe it's something to do with that?
    Hosting Discounts from Professional Rates Hosts - Deals and Coupons on Domain Names from GoDadday, Namecheap, Domain.com and more top registers.

  6. #6
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    November 1st, 2005
    Posts
    2,064
    hold on,

    did you view this image: http://members.commissionmonster.com/pix/banners/72652 ( i can also see this one and thats ok) ?

    or this one: http://members.commissionmonster.com/42/3201/72652 (this one here leads me to weird code in browser & is the one I'm talking about) ?

    They are both from same url so it can't be my isp, that is if you can see both of these?
    Hosting Discounts from Professional Rates Hosts - Deals and Coupons on Domain Names from GoDadday, Namecheap, Domain.com and more top registers.

  7. #7
    Affiliate Network Rep
    Join Date
    May 18th, 2005
    Posts
    9
    Hi Glinted,

    Peter Brighton is my name, the CEO of Commission Monster.

    Firstly, I am sorry to hear of your troubles. As you can see we have been responding back to your emails, however, we have been able to see these images each time we test.

    My senior technical person will be back from leave on Monday and have asked him to personally look into this on my behalf so that we can resolve this issue you are having ASAP.

    I can confirm that we have had no other reports of this incident and again, we could not see the error you are having. Having said this, I am not happy until we find a solution for you.

    In relation to Sex Websites, we have recently announced that all Sex Oriented Merchants (we only had 5 or 6) will be withdrawn from our network, sex oriented affiliates included as this is not a segment of the market we wish to participate in.

    To my knowledge we are not blacklisted on any ISP but again will ask my senior technical person for a full report on this Monday morning (it is a Friday evening as I write Australian time).

    Thankyou for raising this issue with us. Feedback from our affiliates and merchants is highly valued, good or bad.

    I will report back my findings to you all ASAP.

    Kind Regards,

    Peter Brighton
    CEO Commission Monster

  8. #8
    Affiliate Network Rep
    Join Date
    May 18th, 2005
    Posts
    9
    Hi Glinted,

    From taking your issue to my head technician this morning, I found that the has been several isolated client browser issues which appear to be caused as an issue resulting from "persistent" stored data being held in the client cache and this data not being cleared on the browser.

    This would appear to be the problem as it is quite uncommon and matches the complaint which you are making and also seems to fit based on the fact that in our tests and other affiliate tests, we have been unable to replicate the issue which you are having and the images are being displayed correctly.

    To clarify this you will need to clear your cache for the browser in which you are having this issue. Should this present a problem or you are unable to remedy this issue, if possible may I suggest that you please call our Melbourne office on 03-8080 5886 and speak with Glen who will do his best to assist you in anyway possible.

    I also asked Glen to check in relation to being blacklisted on any ISP and I can confirm that we do not appear anywhere we could see.

    I trust this helps answer your question - please feel free to call Glen ok.

    Kind Regards,

    Peter Brighton

  9. #9
    ABW Ambassador
    Join Date
    November 1st, 2005
    Posts
    2,064
    ok thanks for looking into this and you seem to be doing your best to get to the cause of this.

    I can confirm it looks to be an Internet Exlorer Issue as I can see the image on Firefox but not if I enter the image url and will be dished up the messed up code.

    I can confirm it is not a browser chache problem as that does not fix this error and just from the type of error it is it would be very unlikly to be this anway.

    Just to confirm again, I can see the image on the merchant page in the preview but when I click the "get Html" link and I'm taken to the next page the image is broken, the only difference between these two image urls is for example this piece of code "/42/3201/" (as in the example I posted earlier) your developers should take note of this and is a good clue to the cause of the problem .

    I still think there is a problem with the way you are serving out your images too. As I posted earlier, if you go the image link like the one with the "/42/3201/72652" part (the one on the merchant page is ok), you get a messed up code page and this is the root cause of the problem, IE does not like this way of serving out images unless you make sure these errors are taken care of with the server. I think CJ or performics also dish out images like this but the images are never broken and you can enter the image url in your browser and press enter and the image will be served up and not a messed up code page like what happens in this case.

    As I posted earlier, it is not an ISP problem as I can see other images like the one on the merchant page.

    my spec are XP Pro SP2 & IE 6.1

    I must also add that the image on the merchant page is in another directory from looking at the url "/pix/banners/"

    Your developers need to take a deeper look at this.
    Hosting Discounts from Professional Rates Hosts - Deals and Coupons on Domain Names from GoDadday, Namecheap, Domain.com and more top registers.

  10. #10
    Affiliate Network Rep
    Join Date
    May 18th, 2005
    Posts
    9
    Hi Glinted,

    I will get my tech guys to look into this further for you as its best to cover this one of fully for you - I want to know myself things are 100% as it all adds to a better system for all.

    I will report back once I have further news for you ok.

    Kind Regards,


    Peter Brighton

  11. #11
    Affiliate Network Rep
    Join Date
    May 18th, 2005
    Posts
    9
    Hi Glinted,

    I personally looked into this again today with my full tech team and still we have drawn up blanks as we simply cannot get these error messages you speak of.

    My gut feel is this is isolated to your computer as we have literally thousands of affiliates and if this was widespread we certainly would have had it reported more than once.

    I am certainly not here to tell someone who obviously knows what they are doing how to do things Glinted but I am uncertain now how to now help you.

    Kind Regards,

    Peter Brighton

  12. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. edress dead images
    By Paul_Ward in forum Commission Junction - CJ
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: September 5th, 2012, 04:43 PM
  2. commissionmonster.com Merchants Datafeeds Not been updated
    By glittered in forum Australian Affiliates
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: March 15th, 2007, 08:10 AM
  3. Some Images Dead - Solution?
    By Cheesehead in forum Programming / Datafeeds / Tools
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: March 1st, 2007, 03:05 PM
  4. Anyone with commissionmonster?
    By SamyT in forum Midnight Cafe'
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: April 9th, 2005, 07:54 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •