You guys offered some brilliant suggestions when I asked about colors, so I'm gonna ask you about copy now. Being a writer by profession, I'm always writing and re-writing text. If I think something will work better, I run in and change it. Since I really want people to not only click on my affiliate links, but actually buy from the companies, what are some rules I should be following to create copy that sells?

From my prior posts, it's clear I've had some success, but I want more! and better! One thing that gets mentioned now and again is the "call to action" - what constitutes a good call as opposed to a poor call? What's the line between selling well and sounding pushy or desperate?

Are there articles around the web, or books you would recommend specifically on writing copy that sells? I'm really serious about making the sites I'm working on the best they can be.

Janiss,

Having done some traditional print catalog ad copy I've gained a real respect for those who can do it well. It's a real skill (art) to do it well. My favorite book on the subject is "How to write powerful catalog copy" by Herschell Gordon Lewis It's an easy and amusing read.

Actually as it happens I was just in conversation with one of our partners on this very subject. I've a brief post in our forum.

Frankly I think you, the partners have a natural advantage over the merchants in crafting your -compelling- sales copy because you can write from the perspective of sitting along side the buyer making a recommendation. You can assume the "we" stance when speaking with the customer and make a third party recommendation, always highly valued by the consumer. Much as we try ourselves it's still from the perspective of us selling our product to them.