I have a music domain that I want to develop into a site. I am doing a little research on what kind of site I want it to be. What I am wondering is if review type sites convert well. You know those sites that review cd's, books, electronics, products, etc... Thanks.

"If you don't make mistakes, you aren't really trying" - Coleman Hawkins

I don't have any review sites, though I do have one review page that pays the server fees. That's about it, though.

For some things, I can't imagine that it would help conversions, just encourage lookie-loo content oriented readers, like reviews of CD's and music. My gut (and I have little to no retail experience, mind you) tells me that in general folks know what they want to buy when they log on.

That said, the review would make great spider food. Couple it with good ad pitch and a call to action to BUY it, it could work. But I don't know, I've never done it. [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_razz.gif[/img]

For other things, I can't imagine someone buying it without reading reviews: like digital cameras and electronics. Everytime I try to get my act together to buy a digital camera, I end up cruising review sites. Is it XP compatible, does it have flash, is it at all quality, who has the best price? Darn, I still can't afford the one I want.

Which brings me to the point that the review sites that include live or updated price comparison are extremely attractive. I'm not up to writing that kind of script, so I've never considered setting up such a site.

I have some exercise video pages that convert like hotcakes. I've never seen the videos (though I keep thinking I should buy them since everyone else is, lol). I just wrote a good ad pitch (rare with me, I know, but I am proud of that one), not a review. Luckily, I sell them through Amazon, so the visitor gets reviews when they get there.

HTH

Beam me up Scotty, there's no intelligent email left on the planet.

IMHO I think they work.