What is the best way to become an internet marketer?
    Are there any tips like 50 ways to become a top marketer etc that are really helpful to someone new to this market? Is there any way to determine which products are any good. Any advice on the right ‘Guru’ to follow? How safe is it in being in Internet Marketing and not getting ripped off?. Any basic advice needed. Thanks

Affiliate Manager AffiliateBuddha's Avatar
    Participate in this forum often, everybody here is a "guru" in some way, you will be too, soon. Welcome.
    Gift Shopping Zone Affiliate Program on SAS - 10% per sale with unlimited cookie duration, over 10,000 products.

Quote Originally Posted by tony_9b7
    > "How safe is it in being in Internet Marketing and not getting ripped off?" <
    Not very safe at all -- you will get screwed, perhaps often, but if you understand how things work, you will rarely lose much money.

I've been doing this for ten years (internet advertising, affiliate programs, PPC, SEO, etc.) and I've watched a lot of people get screwed, and I've had quite a few companies default (e.g. they didn't pay me as promised).

I've talked to webmasters who've nearly gone bankrupt because they spent all their time and effort generating traffic and sales for a particular merchant, and accrued many thousands of dollars in earnings, only to have that merchant default.

> "Any advice on the right ‘Guru’ to follow?" <
    If you are looking for a "guru" to follow, join a wacky religion.

Every time I hear someone call me a "guru," I get really uncomfortable, although it is a nice compliment (if it means being wise, not if it implies that someone should follow my advice blindly).

If you want to learn how to make money, spend MANY hours reading through this forum and other sites about internet marketing.