Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    ABW Ambassador affiliatemakeover's Avatar
    Affiliate Marketers Don't Wear Suits
    I wrote this up over at my RN blog and frankly, I thought it was perfectly applicable to the ABW crowd. I'm not going to link it here as I'm not trying to get readers, seriously, I'm not. Rather, I'm simply sharing this as I think everyone will relate/like it. If I'm out of bounds just let me know. Pasted the copy below.

Affiliate Marketers Don't Wear Suits
    Mark Cuban should have been an affiliate marketer. Take a read, the guy hates suits.

Exactly what purpose does a suit serve ? Why in the world are so many people required to wear a suit to work ? Do the clothes make the man or woman in the western world today ? Does wearing a tie make us work harder or smarter ? Is this a conspiracy by the clothing, fabric or dry cleaning industry to take our money ?

You get the idea. Let me share my own "suit" story. Back when I graduated college I went to work for Alltel as a "producer". That meant I made Yellow Page phone book display ads on a computer assembly line. The "order" would come in, then I would create the ad line by line, in the right size, with the right fonts, etc... Then I'd hit the "fini" button and it would be sent off to the matrix of millions of other phone book ads.

I did this all in a windowless basement of a corporate building... wearing a suit and tie.

??????

On my last day (I only worked there about 4 months) I asked my supervisor why I needed to wear a suit and tie to sit in front of a computer in a basement and make phone book ads and he kinda looked at me blinkishly and gave me that "we are a professional organization" speech. I didn't buy it. Still don't.