Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Have you heard of "Search Engine Trust"?
    Has anyone heard of Search Engine Trust? Claims to have lots of websites ranked PR3 or higher, and gives you the ability to post a link on these sites. Supposedly these sites get sent to RSS feeds, social bookmarking, tools, etc.

It makes me skeptical, but everything makes me skeptical - so was wondering if you heard of this.

ABW Ambassador
    After checking out the page, run (away).

Thanks so much! I'm still very new to this, and I'm beginning to think they've figure out how to smell "newbies" through the internet.

They caught me last night, dang it - but it was a subscription through PayPal which I'm off to cancel straight away.

Dang, I hate being gullible, stupid and naive

Resident Genius and Staunch Capitalist Leader's Avatar
    Yeah, I agree with Trust.

Without going into detail--chances are great that links from this place are good for nothing, at best. It's like one of those tourist-trap "gold mines" that say you can keep anything you find. They only let people do that when they think they've already gotten all the gold that's worth getting...

Dang, I hate being gullible, stupid and naive
    Newbishness, unfortunately, is a stage which all humanity must pass through

But a good general rule for the net is, if a page is set up like that one is: Don't buy. Those pages usually go with the too-good-to-be-true get rich quick (or in this case, get PR quick) scams.

Also:
    Real gold mines do not come with a sign that says "REAL GOLD MINE, THIS WAY-->" like in some Road Runner cartoon. (And even in the cartoons, the things marked like that were usually traps.)

Other tips for avoiding buying stuff (in general) that you'll regret buying later on:
    Try to wait a day before buying stuff. Taking the "impulse" out of buying saves much money, and prevents a lot of buyer's remorse.

Never buy ANYTHING while tired, even mundane-seeming stuff!