How many programs per page?
    Hello Everyone,
    I have a newbie question here. Of course I am a newbie, so all my questions are newbie......

I have been reading, studing, taking notes ect ect.

I have decided on my niche have the domain name and site ready to make.

Working on the copy now.

By my understanding you do not put affiliate links on the home page. Right or wrong???

Also about how many different affliate programs do you include per page? Or is there even a rule of thumb here?

Any help would be appreciated.
    LindaLS

Welcome to ABW, Linda!!

Quote Originally Posted by LindaLS
    By my understanding you do not put affiliate links on the home page. Right or wrong???
    Wrong. There is nothing wrong about having affiliate links on your home page. In fact, it may often be one of your best money-making strategies... What made you think it is not the best way to do things?

Quote Originally Posted by LindaLS
    Also about how many different affliate programs do you include per page? Or is there even a rule of thumb here?
    I'd say: as many as are relevant and not eye-irritating.

Geno

ABW Ambassador
    I have affiliate links on all my home pages. They do very well there!

Merchant & ABW Ambassador
    There is no right or wrong answer.

It depends on your site. If you are a coupon site, or a deal site, you want to have affiliate links on your main page but please do it with taste. Meaning no flashing banners or a bad layout/format.

As for the # of merchants on a page, it depends.
    if you are doing a price comparison for a product, you can list those merchants.
    If you have a generic site selling nuts and bolts, list one or 2 merchants that converts well and make sure they are selling nuts n bolts. Don't put a hotel company link on a nuts and bolts review page.

Welcome

Time to jump in....
    Thank you for your help. I will apply your wisdom. Hopefully I have enough information to get my site up and running today.