Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Dream Cruise megatonloh's Avatar
    Join Date
    June 5th, 2005
    Location
    Look East
    Posts
    418
    Where do the bulk of databases files go too
    Having learned to import SAS datafeed from this post
    http://forum.abestweb.com/showthread.php?t=86606 and it specified: This code will only manage ONE datafeed.

    I am converting my html site to php.

    present html site
    www.mysite.com - index.html
    www.mysite.com/product-A.html
    www.mysite.com/product-B.html
    www.mysite.com/product-C.html ......and so on.
    All these are place in the same directory as the index page.

    Now I convert the above to php
    www.mysite.com - index.php
    www.mysite.com/product-A.php
    www.mysite.com/product-B.php
    www.mysite.com/product-C.php
    The index.php will be my content page with no calling of products from the database.

    For all the other product pages, it will have each merchant database to call.
    For each merchant database, I will have to create difference config, db_funcs, catlist files etc...

    Lets say that I have 10 databases with 10 different merchants, can I put all the 10 config, db_funcs, catlist files etc under the same directory as the index page? Will it work?

    I hope you all understand my question.

    Thanks
    Richard

  2. #2
    ABW Ambassador PatrickAllmond's Avatar
    Join Date
    September 20th, 2005
    Location
    OKC
    Posts
    1,219
    1. Why do you have seperate php files for each product? Is there some mod-rewrite work going on.

    2. With the proper planning why can't you do this with one set of php and make your needed changes in the config file?

    I am also still a little confused as to what you are trying to do?
    ---
    This response was masterly crafted via the fingers of Patrick Allmond who believe you should StopDoingNothing starting today.
    ---
    Focus Consulting is where I roll | Follow @patrickallmond on Twitter
    Search Engine Marketing | Search Engine Optimization | Social Media | Online Video

  3. #3
    Dream Cruise megatonloh's Avatar
    Join Date
    June 5th, 2005
    Location
    Look East
    Posts
    418
    Hi Patrick24601,

    I have one database for each merchant so 10 different databases for 10 different merchants, all from SAS.

    Each database will require their own config, db_funcs, catlist files etc, because the input details like merchant id, product id, descriptions etc are different.

    I hope I am making it clearer.

    Thanks
    Richard

  4. #4
    ABW Ambassador PatrickAllmond's Avatar
    Join Date
    September 20th, 2005
    Location
    OKC
    Posts
    1,219
    I am a person who designs large database on a daily basis, so here are some suggestions that might make it easier.

    - Do it all in one database with different tables for each vendor

    - If they all come from SAS that means all of the formats are the exact same. Why not do them all in one table? If you need to know the difference between the vendors add your own column that identifies which vendor it is.
    ---
    This response was masterly crafted via the fingers of Patrick Allmond who believe you should StopDoingNothing starting today.
    ---
    Focus Consulting is where I roll | Follow @patrickallmond on Twitter
    Search Engine Marketing | Search Engine Optimization | Social Media | Online Video

  5. #5
    Lite On The Do, Heavy On The Nuts Donuts's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Winter Park, FL
    Posts
    6,930
    "Where do the bulk of databases files go too"

    supplemental results?

    :-)

  6. #6
    Dream Cruise megatonloh's Avatar
    Join Date
    June 5th, 2005
    Location
    Look East
    Posts
    418
    Thanks patrick24601 and Donuts for responding.

    I am still very raw with php and importing of datafeeds from merchants.


    I am using the script as provided in this thread
    http://forum.abestweb.com/showthread.php?t=86606 to import SAS merchant datafeeds and it specified: This code will only manage ONE datafeed per merchant.

    The only way I can think of is place each merchant data on the third level i.e
    www.mysite.com/merchantA/index.php, each merchant on its own directory???

    I still have to learn how to import datafeed from all merchants into one table as mentioned by patrick24601.


    Thanks
    Richard

  7. #7
    ABW Ambassador Snib's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    5,303
    Quote Originally Posted by Donuts
    "Where do the bulk of databases files go too"

    supplemental results?

    :-)
    Yup, because the search engines are making room for me.

    - Scott
    Hatred stirs up strife, But love covers all transgressions.

  8. #8
    Dream Cruise megatonloh's Avatar
    Join Date
    June 5th, 2005
    Location
    Look East
    Posts
    418
    Thank you Snib, Donuts,

    Does it mean if I create one database for each merchant for each page, it will all be placed as supplemental results by google?




    Thanks
    Richard

  9. #9
    Lite On The Do, Heavy On The Nuts Donuts's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Winter Park, FL
    Posts
    6,930
    if that's all it is, a repeat of the merchant's feed, your seo will suffer. i can't predict with certainty that it'll be supplemental, but i'd guess it's very, very likely to be so. think of ways to compare, analyze and make the data useful, in unique ways, and you'll change the outcome. ask yourself what is the compelling reason for a consumer to see the product feed, on your site, versus the merchant's site where it's available directly... that's the key to getting natural backlinks and to also distinguish your site from being a mirror of data available elsewhere.

  10. #10
    Dream Cruise megatonloh's Avatar
    Join Date
    June 5th, 2005
    Location
    Look East
    Posts
    418
    Thanks Donuts,

    Will look for ways and study on how to make better use of the data.

    Still learning the php thing, one question if I may.

    I have the merchant datafeeds in my webhost database, can I select and choose only certain products from the database to be placed on my site pages using php coding (is there such a coding)?


    Thanks
    Richard

  11. #11
    ABW Veteran Mr. Sal's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Posts
    6,795
    can I select and choose only certain products from the database to be placed on my site pages using php coding (is there such a coding)?
    Yes, even if you have a datafeed with 50k products, you can just show anything you want, from one, ten, 100, or even the entire 50k feed.

    You can limit what you want to show by general products, by price, by category, etc.

    "is there such a coding"

    Those are the easier scripts to make.

  12. #12
    Comfortably Numb John Powell's Avatar
    Join Date
    October 17th, 2005
    Location
    Bayou Country, LA
    Posts
    3,432
    I am still very raw with php and importing of datafeeds from merchants.
    I don't want to sound discouraging, but as you get deeper into this you will need a basic understanding of PHP/MySql. You will need to do tweaks that make you different, and deal with the freaky stuff merchants do with feeds.

    SAS may have all the feeds with the same columns, but it's surprising how many ways merchants can mess with that. Here is an example from the Custom 1 column for ReStockit "KitchenUtensilsDishers".

    All you need is a reference book and a little time. It's not that hard. Try "PHP and MySQL Web Development" by Welling and Thomson.

  13. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: May 21st, 2009, 05:14 AM
  2. Where, oh where did my databases go......
    By bettylou in forum Midnight Cafe'
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: October 7th, 2008, 08:32 PM
  3. 50% off in all databases
    By pachecus in forum Midnight Cafe'
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: June 12th, 2006, 10:54 AM
  4. All your files belong to us - Files Held Ransom
    By zendozen in forum Midnight Cafe'
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: May 26th, 2005, 11:55 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •