Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Which email Client? Software, Web? Help Desk/CRM? (Advice wanted)
    I've been using Eudora Pro as my email client software for more than 10 years (paying many times over for upgrades). During the past few weeks (really for several months, ever since their upgrade to version 7.x) I have been experiencing increasingly erratic behavior by the program. It did not surprise me to learn today that the company has announced that it is discontinuing the "paid" version of Eudora. (They announced that the program will be released to the "open source" community, but I'm not optimistic that there is a community ready to take on updates for this program.)

It is now clear that it's time for to switch to some other solution for reading and storing email. I would prefer not to use Microsoft Outlook, specifically because it is the number one target of email viruses, trojans, and other exploits -- but I will be reluctantly re-evaluating it as part of this process. I will also be considering pure web-based email solutions, though I've not yet seen anything powerful enough. I will also consider "help desk" or "CRM" software with a robust email component.

I definitely need something that can handle a lot of "filters" or "rules" -- so that incoming email can be filtered into many different folders. It's also important that it have a powerful and flexible search function. I also need the ability to have multiple "identies" or "personalities" (for example, one for my primary email address ("markwelch at markwelch dot com"), and another for emails that come through clients, such as "affiliates at quoteproducts dot com" -- these each have a separate mail server and login.

What do you use? What do you recommend? What problems have you had with specific email client software in the past? Which programs have you used that you advise me to avoid?

All advice is welcome. (As always, never post "affiliate links" to any merchant here.)