Question I tried to buy a product through my own clickbank hoplink and...
    I am new to CB and to try and test out the system I bought an eBook through one of my own hoplinks.

It worked and it showed that I earned almost $50 in commission.

However.....

I tried it again, with multiple products and multiple cards (just in case) and CB says that they were unable to authorize my payment.

I sent a question to CB support and got crap back for an answer.

Is there something wrong with my CB account???

Thanks!!!!

It may have been flagged as an unauthorized affiliate commission and rendered your card unusable on your own account. CB states that you may not purchase products using your own affiliate link and receive a commission. I'm not sure if this would cause your issue, but it may play a part.
    Ray Thomas
    Webmaster Resources: http://DesignerWiz.com
    ABW Board Category: Programming / Coding
    http://forum.abestweb.com/forumdisplay.php?f=190

Lots of programs (anyone know a percentage?) forbid affiliates from earning commissions on their own purchases, because presumably they would sign up just for getting such a discount.

To me, that's very short-sighted. Imagine a marketing effort that has very little incremental cost that brings you a sale. To get that sale, you have to be willing to give a discount (i.e. affiliate commission). Sounds like Marketing 101 to me.

Moreover, if you further imagine that same customer, the one who signed up as an affiliate solely to get a discount on his/her own purchases...being asked by a friend where they got that cool new product or service. Won't they recommend the very same merchant, making that one-off purchase a form of viral marketing (i.e., what the merchant wanted all along)?

Just my humble opinion.
    [URL=http://themoneyforums.com]The Money Forums[/URL]

I totally agree with you DoctorMike .... it's marketing 101 as you stated.
    Ray Thomas
    Webmaster Resources: http://DesignerWiz.com