Yup, Sure ... now let me check ... Cagles Mill's Avatar
    Seeking advice on building a database for the local library
    Although I have been doing affiliate marketing full-time for over 3 1/2 years now, I recently took on a part-time job in the Local History and Genealogy Dept. at the local library. I'm putting in about 17 hours a week there. My wife has been wanting me to do something to get out of the house more (spelled getting out of her hair) and I felt as if I needed to do something to get myself back into circulation with other people more. Anyway, I have been into genealogy for years and I have always enjoyed history. So although I am treating the position seriously as a job, I actually think of it more as a hobby.

Since the library knows I build websites, they want me to try and build a website for the Local History and Genealogy Dept. This would be totally independent of the library's own site. I have pretty much already put the site together, but now I'm ready to get down to the brass tacks of constructing a database for them, or rather several databases.

So, here's the problem. What would you pros consider the best way to handle this?

One of the department's collections and the one they want to put on line first, consists of a file cabinet filled with about 300 folders (called the Boatright files). Each folder is labeled with one or more family last names. These folders contain any number of pages consisting of any and all information the Boatrights were able to gather on these local families. The library wants to scan all these pages and put them on line as images. Maybe someday they may want to actually try typing it all in, but that seems rather unlikely.