Can someone explain to me how someone's commissions can be stolen by someone else?

Thanks.

ABW Ambassador
    Any software that exchanges your affiliate ID on your website for its own.

Current method is to present some form of visual stimulation which prompts the surfer to click on something. Once clicked on, the surfer is then the "customer" of the visual stimulation creator. See threads on Morpheus. Suppose a surfer is at your site. They click on one of your affiliate links to buy (or view more details of) a product. The visual stimulation happens (flashing toolbar, popup dialog etc etc) asking if you want to save money. If yes, click here. They click, and YOU lose the commission to the thief.

This type of thing is easy to program. I am a programmer with almost no web programming experience and I could program an application within an hour to steal most commissions. Luckily most people in affiliate marketing are not thieves and do not want to make money this way. It would be the end of affiliate marketing for moral affiliates.

Let's hope it never happens.

Read BluesX thread about Calling Affiliate Networks & Merchants - It is going to get UGLY.

He knows what he is talking about.

Andy Williams

Keyword DARTs - New search engine optimization software
    http://www.affiliate-masters.co.uk/k...timization.htm

quote:
    This type of thing is easy to program.

I'm no expert on programming. (The last program I wrote was entered on IBM punch cards written in Fortran.) But, I do beleive it would be just as easy to program scripts to protect ethical affiliates from the parasites.

Ernie

It may be that my sole purpose in life is simply to serve as a warning to others.

ABW Ambassador
    It would not be. Wurldmedia pays a hefty price to be downloaded with morpheus. How would you get your application installed?