A question about email marketing
    Hi everyone,
    I've seen a few affiliate programs as of late that got me curious about the topic of email marketing. Some products that are available for sale make great niche sites, but i have no experience with making niche sites.
    So I suppose my question is two fold:
    1) Are there any models/examples for creating niche sites? I'm kind of embarrassed to say that his topic is completely foreign to me and would appreciate some guidance.
    2) how do you conduct a (legal) email marketing campaign? By that I mean, how do you gather email lists, how do you get people to sign up, how do you send out mass emails, and how does email marketing work in general? Is it profitable? Is it worthwhile?
    I hate to sound like such a newb but I'm not afraid to ask for help when I get stuck!

Thanks so much for your time!
    Last edited by cckid; June 6th, 2007 at 04:15 PM. Reason: addition to question #2

Online Marketing Consultant
    Quote Originally Posted by cckid
    2) how do you conduct a (legal) email marketing campaign? By that I mean, how do you gather email lists, how do you get people to sign up, how do you send out mass emails, and how does email marketing work in general? Is it profitable? Is it worthwhile?
    The best way to do it is build your own list by collecting data on your site and having your readers opt-in.

You can buy e-mail lists but it is almost always a very sketchy thing to do.

1. They opted in to receiving news and offers and sometimes they never even knew they opted in.

2. You might want to look for a non-profit or association and buy some e-mail space or if they offer an e-mail to their members; buy that as they will be sending on your behalf and the people have opted in to recieving e-mails from vendors etc...

3. Make sure you are familiar with can-spam laws and regulations.

4. Make sure you are not violating any of your merchants terms of service.