Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Comfortably Numb John Powell's Avatar
    Join Date
    October 17th, 2005
    Location
    Bayou Country, LA
    Posts
    3,432
    Different site:example.com For IE and Firefox
    Will the title says it all. I have been seeing different results for some time now when using the site:example.com search in Google. The same site has 49 pages in the index for IE 7 and 55 pages with Firefox.

    Sometimes pages don't show in the index but doing "keyword site:example.com" will bring pages up that don't show in the regular site: search and are not marked supplemental.

    I know I'm spending way to much time looking at junk like this.

    Edit: Another site showing for IE 10 pages in the index and Firefox shows 50.

  2. #2
    general fuq mrbshouse's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Argieville
    Posts
    1,381
    is it possible that G uses one ip for IE and another for FF? That might be the same result as checking different g databases for the same terms.

    can you easily see the ip (FF has a plug in) IE i think you need to use netsat -a

    I just checked one listing and got the same results from the same location
    Last edited by mrbshouse; June 30th, 2007 at 03:13 PM.

  3. #3
    Newbie HazelB's Avatar
    Join Date
    June 25th, 2007
    Posts
    74
    Quote Originally Posted by bumpaw
    Will the title says it all. I have been seeing different results for some time now when using the site:example.com search in Google. The same site has 49 pages in the index for IE 7 and 55 pages with Firefox.

    Sometimes pages don't show in the index but doing "keyword site:example.com" will bring pages up that don't show in the regular site: search and are not marked supplemental.

    I know I'm spending way to much time looking at junk like this.

    Edit: Another site showing for IE 10 pages in the index and Firefox shows 50.
    Does either or both browsers have the Google toolbar? Firefox and IE without it seem to return the same results but Firefox w/google toolbar shows a difference but only for one of the many sites I tried.

    Now I'm spending too much time on this junk too.

    Hazel

  4. #4
    Resident Genius and Staunch Capitalist Leader's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    12,817
    I don't do many site: searches, but I see different results for regular searches sometimes. But there may be this confounding variable at work:
    Quote Originally Posted by Hazel B
    Does either or both browsers have the Google toolbar?
    I've got no bar for FF, but I do have it in IE.
    I don't want big brother G watching *everything* I do!

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    87
    The validity of the site: search command has been questionable for some time. Do you get mixed results when you try the alternative inurl:www.domain.com search as well? I see the same in IE and FF.

  6. #6
    Comfortably Numb John Powell's Avatar
    Join Date
    October 17th, 2005
    Location
    Bayou Country, LA
    Posts
    3,432
    They had a thread on this at WMW back in Dec. 2005,

    As far as my set up I tried everything except trying to determine the Google IP. I don't have an easy way that can do that.

    Firefox is the same with or without the G toolbar installed. I had 2 different PCs to test that. I used the user agent switcher and it made no difference.

    IE 7 shows different than Firefox and it has the G toolbar installed.

    Cookies seem to be a big factor in IE results. Disabling them will make IE results = FF results. Disabling FF cookies had no effect. Go figure.

  7. Newsletter Signup

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Firefox 6
    By daiarian in forum Midnight Cafe'
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: October 28th, 2011, 06:09 PM
  2. Problems with site in Firefox?
    By eeyipes in forum ShareASale - SAS
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: September 29th, 2011, 05:12 PM
  3. Bookmark This Site, Make Homepage html/javascript for Firefox?
    By Trust in forum Programming / Datafeeds / Tools
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: February 21st, 2008, 08:33 PM
  4. Firefox extension allows analytics to be viewed in firefox.
    By jrb16915 in forum Rakuten LinkShare - LS
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: November 9th, 2005, 04:09 PM
  5. WHY? FireFox!! WHY?
    By AddHandler in forum Programming / Datafeeds / Tools
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: September 30th, 2005, 08:49 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •