It's frustrating not being able to see Google page ranking on my site's pages, or the pages I link to or that link to me - I'm a confirmed Mac addict and refuse to work on anything else as long as Macintosh is still in business. But I've been considering buying the absolute cheapest PC possible, solely for the purposes of using the Google toolbar and perhaps testing out parasite stuff (a cheap PC I am willing to screw up with that junk "for the purposes of scientific research"). So what's the bargain-basement price for a PC these days? I know they're way cheaper than Macs. If my finances hold up over the next couple of months I may actually go out and git me one if it's not too high.

J

I am sort of in the opposite situation ... I have three boxes in my house: Linux (which I use all the time), Windows 98 (when I have to), and Macintosh. I got the Macintosh last month, and I use it to see what my web pages look like on a Mac and hope to port some of my applications (I'm a programmer). I got a used G3/233 for $175 and it works great.

Anyway, if the PC is just for experimentation, you can get a new PC for $250 if you shop around. The monitor will cost $100 to $200 more. I've had success shopping through pricewatch.com, although some people warn about shady merchants online.

Peter Kirby
    Domain Name Registration Directory

ABW Ambassador
    Yes, seeing pretty reasonable PC systems in major retail stores around $250 (well, a *few* dollars more than that). Should be easy to come up with a used monitor for $30 or $40 if you check your local classifieds.

All around the mulberry bush the monkey chased the weasel

You might also try some of your local thrift stores. My local Salvation Army always has monitors for around $5.00. Sometimes they have 2-3 year old “dinosaur” computers dirt cheep too.

Jason
    “That’s the song I’ve been sangin for years, that’s the way the wild wind blows” – Robert Earl Keen