Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    What PHP Editor do you use?
    I've been a loyal EditPad programmer for years but think it may be time to upgrade to a more robust editor or an IDE. Any recommendations?

I used Notepad++ for some time, but recently I moved to using the Zend Studio.

One's free, the other is not. Though I didn't pay for it (a company I did some contract work for required it and bought the license). I like Zend well enough, but being built on a Java platform it can be a bit slow sometimes. I hear (though haven't used) that Eclipse works well.

In the end, Notepad++ did everything I wanted. Color syntax, line numbering, auto indent, etc. I don't like programs that write code for me, though I do like Zend's autocomplete options (it has all of the PHP functions built into it with an outline of what each does - pretty snazzy). Zend also remembers the names of variables you've used in the past and provides an autocomplete feature for your own variables and functions that are already defined.

If you're working on a Mac platform, I'd take a hard look at TextMate. If they had a PC version, I'd use it on my Windows machines as well.
    Chris Sturgill
    "All my life I've had one dream, to achieve my many goals." - H. Simpson

PSPad is a very nice little free editor that has many of the functions like Color syntax, line numbering, auto indent plus it has a nice html editor/validator, .xml extractor and does tricks with database files. I't lines manipulation features come in very handy and it works in so many useful formats. Excellent Czech program with support forum.

Outsourced Program Manager Nick Prussakov's Avatar
    Notepad++ is good, indeed... and not only for .php editing.