Getting Google Conversion Tracking to work on an outbound php
    I am attempting to get Google Conversion tracking to work on an affiliate site, where a person clicks on of my affiliate links, which takes them to an outbound php file which sends them to the merchant. I've added the proper google code to this outbound php file, but alas, it doesn't work. Any ideas? Thanks in advance.

Are you referring to setting 'goals' in Google Analytics? I'm very much a newbie with Google (and self-taught in PHP). I'd like to try to contribute to someone else's question though, instead of just asking my own, so here goes!

You're looking to track your click-throughs independent of the merchant or network, right? And set goals based on click-throughs in Analytics? If this is the case, I don't see that you would add any code to your php link.

If I were doing this I would:
    a) Have my Google Analytics tracking code in my html.
    b) Set up my goal page as being the address of my php file (ie http://www.yoursite.com/visit/goal.php and replacing relevant text with your file address)

I haven't done this, but I don't see why that wouldn't work. Most people who track their click-throughs independently use PHP/mySQL though, and have a field in their database for that. As your number of 'goals' in Analytics is limited, I think using a mySQL database for this would probably make more sense. Unless of course you wanted to track their specific path to see where you're losing them.

As another thought, if you've set everything up in Analytics correctly and are testing it yourself to see if it tracks but not seeing results, check to see if you've filtered out visits from your own IP address. If thats the case, disable that option during your testing or try it out from another computer.

Hope I understood your question and answered correctly!
    [IMG]http://www.centsible.net/images/centsible28x196.bmp[/IMG]
    Making Cents of the Internet

Quote Originally Posted by Rhawn