Affiliate Manager Howard Gottlieb's Avatar
    Too many keywords
    This might be a silly question. Other than the time to manage the large volume, is there any downside to using an extraordinarily long list of long tail keywords in PPC campaigns in Google adwords?

Logic would say the more the better but I am new to AM and have worked to develop a very long list of very targeted keywords for a new site we will be launching. But before we start uploading the list of keywords to Google I thought I'd ask for advice.

Thanks for any input.

As far as I understand it, as long as the keywords are targetted to the landing page then the more the merrier. You might find, however, that google has a limit to the number you can input. I've never had that problem but have heard that they have restrictions.

Sue.

Maybe I can ask this more simply. Has anyone maxed out when entering Google adwords for one specific campaign? Is there an upper limit in their database that anyone knows of?

ABW Ambassador
    I'm aware of an agency in the UK with 6 million phrases.

There is a firm in the Midwest with well over 10 million.

All major platforms will accommodate an advertisers needs depending on how much the advertiser will spend.

Your account rep can help you.

Mr. Mackin
    mackin@makemetop.com

By default:

A Google "ad group" can contain a maximum of 2,000 keywords.
    A Google "campaign" can contain a maximum of 100 ad groups.
    A Google "account" can contain a maximum of 25 campaigns.

25 x 100 x 2,000 = 5,000,000 (5 million) keywords.

I have been told that Google can adjust these limits (at least the number of campaigns in an account), but Google has not done this for me, forcing me to open multiple accounts for some clients (technically this is against Google's policies, but the support staff have repeatedly told me it is OK if it is not done to circumvent other Google policies).