Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Trademark Bidding Warnings
    A quick question to those of you that do substantial amounts of DTM PPC...

As an affiliate manager, I monitor very closely the TM terms of the merchants I represent. It's pretty easy, since I choose to only manage programs that allow pretty broad DTM, and we only protect really specific TMs.

That being said, I still find the occassional poacher... let's pretend they somehow missed our ever present restricted keywords on SAS.... and I contact them immediately to C&D. In fact, I have one as of this morning

What's a reasonable turn around time for me to expect them to comply?

Since it was clearly forbidden when they joined the program, is 1 day too short? 7 days? These aren't changes, this was business as usual since program launch....

Secondly, what if we were to add a trademark to the list that wasn't included previously. Is 30 days reasonable? Is it fair to do less?
    Kevin Webster
    twitter: levelanalytics

Kayak Fishing
    Web Analytics and Affiliate Marketing

http and a telephoto
    I have had most remove the listings within a day. After all they don't want to spend money on bids that aren't going to pay. Telling them they will forfeit commissions usually motivates them to stop. More of a problem are the folks that are NOT affiliates bidding on merchant trademarks. That is a problem that the merchant needs to deal with directly.

As long as you notify your affiliates of the change in the TOS, I think 2 weeks is reasonable. But again, most ppc bidders will stop campaigns when notified so that they don't forget and again end up spending money that they won't earn commissions on.

For one of my merchants that doesn't allow TM bidding, the problem is that as soon as I get 2 to stop 3 more start. I added the restriction to the welcome letter, since it seems people are not seeing it in the Sharasale backend.
    Deborah Carney
    TeamLoxly.com BookGoodies.com ABCsPlus.com

http and a telephoto