Question from a newbie
    Hello all. I am a newbie to affiliate marketing, so please forgive me if my question seems naive. I personally purchased something from one of my merchants (a click through the banner on my website). This counts as a sale, correct? And thus, I would be entitled to the commission on the sale, correct?

The purchase was made two days ago and was shipped out today (I received confirmation email from merchant). When will the sale appear in my stats? Does it typically take a number of days for a sale to appear or does it appear in stats automatically when the sale is made or shipped?

Thank you for your help.

Rhonab,

Most of the merchants do not allow clicking your own ads or doing any transactions by clicking on your own ads. But even then as soon as any transaction takes place you should see the money added into your account immediately. If the merchant finds something fishy he might reverse the money at a later time. But generally you recieve money in your Shareasale account as soon as any trasaction takes place.

I hope this has answered your question.

AMEET SHIVRAM
    Last edited by coolmasti; August 19th, 2007 at 01:10 AM.

Super Dawg Member Phil Kaufman aka AffiliateHound's Avatar
    I beg to differ with coolmasti. The majority of merchants do allow you to make purchases through your affiliate links, and the ones that don't normally say so in their TOS.

Search the Test Purchses forum and you will see a veritable panoply of references to such purchases.
    Since June 10, 2012 a vegan aarf but still writing the Hound Dawg Sports Blog
    "If you don't have time to do it right, when will you have time to do it over?" -John Wooden;
    "Raj, there’s no place for truth on the internet." -Howard Wolowitz[/SIZE]

Most of the merchants do not allow clicking your own ads or doing any transactions by clicking on your own ads.
    Actually there are VERY FEW merchants who do not allow affiliates to make purchases through their own links.