View Poll Results: What is the biggest threat to your commissions?

Voters
27. You may not vote on this poll
  • Merchant / Network Tracking Issues

10 37.04%
  • Parasites

4 14.81%
  • Merchant Leaks

1 3.70%
  • Blocked Cookies / Cookie Removal Software

7 25.93%
  • TradeMark Poachers

2 7.41%
  • Other (please post your thought below)

3 11.11%
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What is the biggest threat to your commissions.

Outsourced Program Manager
    What is the biggest threat to your commissions.
    I've seen some interesting threads on this topic lately, and wanted to get a consensus as to what you thought. I am especially interested in any "other" responses that we receive.

Adding Trademark Poachers to Poll before any votes were cast.

Michael, I voted other because there really is no way to know how most of these affect our commissions.

I'm still relatively new to AM, especially compared to how long some of you guys have been around. Getting used to the "wild west" attitude of this industry has been the hardest adjustment for me. If you've followed some of my previous posts you'll notice that I tend to put a lot of emphasis on contracts and the law and how they are applied (or not) in the affiliate arena. To me the biggest problem in affiliate marketing is the lack of laws that govern what networks, merchants AND affiliates can and can't do. That combined with the total lack of transparency and accountability would be totally unheard of in any other LEGAL enterprise that I'm familiar with.

Transparency in this case forces honesty. I'm a firm believer in the term "Inspect what you expect", however I have no way to measure my expectations other than to put a lot of faith and trust in organizations and individuals that can and do profit from not being trustworthy.

Give me transparency and most of these threats become non-issues.

-rematt