Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 71
  1. #1
    What's the word? Rhia7's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 13th, 2006
    Posts
    9,578
    Why can't I connect? (Problem was HOSTS File)
    Why am I getting this message when I attempt to connect to a merchant from the CJ network?

    Firefox can't establish a connection to the server at www.***********.
    Are there computer settings I should set?

    This has never happened to me before. I can only attribute this to problems that happened after reading the thread about that 17 year old who makes 70K -- that's when I had to deal with different/more spyware/virus programs although I'm dumbfounded that I can connect except to CJ merchants.
    Last edited by Rhia7; September 30th, 2007 at 09:20 PM.
    ~Rhia7 -- Remember the 7
    Twitter me

  2. #2
    Moderator Nabz's Avatar
    Join Date
    August 24th, 2005
    Location
    VY Canis Majoris
    Posts
    1,751
    Its because you complained about CJ here http://forum.abestweb.com/showthread.php?t=95408 , so they have decided to ban your IP.

  3. #3
    What's the word? Rhia7's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 13th, 2006
    Posts
    9,578
    The problem still remains.

    I can log into CJ but none of my CJ links work for me from my sites *plus* I went to someone else's site who uses links from CJ but those links don't work for me either.

    I described the problem through CJ's clunky "help interface" but I can't see the status of any answer because the clunky interface asks me for a password but does not accept the password given. I requested a new password but was not sent one even though I requested a new password at least 4 times.
    I never seem to be able to obtain help from CJ.

    I would think that this problem would be a concern to others especially since I could not get through the links of another affiliate.

    Last night an ISP help desk rep could not access the CJ server in question.

    My only other question would be: did any of the recently downloaded spyware programs block CJ links? Of course my spyware programs would not have affected the ISP help desk rep's access.

    Last night I thought I was having trouble with one randomly named CJ server, but this morning I am having trouble with all of them.

    It's difficult for me to upload fresh content (from CJ) when I can't check to see if the links go to the intended product or not.
    Last edited by Rhia7; October 1st, 2007 at 10:54 AM.
    ~Rhia7 -- Remember the 7
    Twitter me

  4. #4
    What's the word? Rhia7's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 13th, 2006
    Posts
    9,578
    At CJ I went to the search => products to create new product links but each one I try regardless of category will not work
    ~Rhia7 -- Remember the 7
    Twitter me

  5. #5
    Moderator MichaelColey's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    Mansfield, TX
    Posts
    16,232
    Did these problems start after you got the virus last month? If nobody else is having the same problems, that's where I would suggest checking.
    Michael Coley
    Amazing-Bargains.com
     Affiliate Tips | Merchant Best Practices | Affiliate Friendly? | Couponing | CPA Networks? | ABW Tips | Activating Affiliates
    "Education is the most powerful weapon which you can use to change the world." Nelson Mandela

  6. #6
    What's the word? Rhia7's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 13th, 2006
    Posts
    9,578
    Quote Originally Posted by MichaelColey
    Did these problems start after you got the virus last month? If nobody else is having the same problems, that's where I would suggest checking.
    I never encountered these problems until last night.

    How should I check?

    I have Zone Alarm, Spyware Terminator, and Search Bot & Destroy -- typical programs -- the programs don't seem to be agitated.

    Last night I was on an online chat with a rep from my ISP and he set my browser settings for Firefox and IE.

    I don't know what to do
    ~Rhia7 -- Remember the 7
    Twitter me

  7. #7
    The Seal of Aproval rematt's Avatar
    Join Date
    November 19th, 2006
    Location
    The Windy City
    Posts
    4,140
    Rhia I just checked about a dozen CJ links on 2 of my sites and I'm not having any problems. My guess would be that one of the spyware apps you installed may be blocking the CJ domains or has altered your hosts file. Also I remember that ZoneAlarm used to (haven't used them in a couple of years) block CJ domains by default if you have the ad blocking enabled.

    I'd suggest temporarily disabling all of the new apps that you installed, rebooting and trying again. If that has no effect check ZoneAlarm and your hosts file. If you're running XP, you'll find your hosts file in c:\windows\system32\drivers\etc.

    I hope this helps, if not, just resign yourself to the fact that you broke it .
    "I know that you believe you understand what you think I said, but I'm not sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant." - Richard Nixon

  8. #8
    What's the word? Rhia7's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 13th, 2006
    Posts
    9,578
    Quote Originally Posted by rematt
    Rhia I just checked about a dozen CJ links on 2 of my sites and I'm not having any problems. My guess would be that one of the spyware apps you installed may be blocking the CJ domains or has altered your hosts file. Also I remember that ZoneAlarm used to (haven't used them in a couple of years) block CJ domains by default if you have the ad blocking enabled.
    Spyware Terminator is a new download plus I think so is SpyBot Search & Destroy.

    I've had Zone Alarm for a while but ZA has never interfered with CJ.
    Quote Originally Posted by rematt
    I'd suggest temporarily disabling all of the new apps that you installed, rebooting and trying again. If that has no effect check ZoneAlarm and your hosts file. If you're running XP, you'll find your hosts file in c:\windows\system32\drivers\etc.
    How do I look for: c:\windows\system32\drivers\etc. ?
    ~Rhia7 -- Remember the 7
    Twitter me

  9. #9
    The Seal of Aproval rematt's Avatar
    Join Date
    November 19th, 2006
    Location
    The Windy City
    Posts
    4,140
    Quote Originally Posted by Rhia7
    How do I look for: c:\windows\system32\drivers\etc. ?
    Just open My Computer and select the directories (or perform a search for hosts). If you don't see the Windows directory you will have to unhide your system folders first. To unhide the folders open My Computer, select your c: drive and then select Tools - Folder options from the menu. When the Folder Options box appears select the View tab and scroll down to "Hidden Files and Folders" and select "Show Hidden Files and Folders". Say OK and go back to My Computer and look for the directories.

    You can open the hosts file in notepad and look for any of the CJ domains, if you find any just delete them and re-save he file (you may want to make a backup of the hosts file first, just copy it to hosts.old before you open it).

    Good Luck

    -rematt
    "I know that you believe you understand what you think I said, but I'm not sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant." - Richard Nixon

  10. #10
    What's the word? Rhia7's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 13th, 2006
    Posts
    9,578
    When I go My Computer, what am I supposed to look for?
    View System information?

    Go to Local Disk?

    You are talking to someone who doesn't usually go into My Computer except to add or remove programs. I am sorry, but I don't totally understand the instructions.

    I did a search for Hosts and found a letter where I praise an aunt & uncle for being great hosts at a party.

    My network places is just an indicator for LAN or High Speed Internet
    Last edited by Rhia7; October 1st, 2007 at 01:51 PM.
    ~Rhia7 -- Remember the 7
    Twitter me

  11. #11
    The Seal of Aproval rematt's Avatar
    Join Date
    November 19th, 2006
    Location
    The Windy City
    Posts
    4,140
    I'm assuming that you're using XP. If you are, than My Computer should be either the first or second icon on your desktop (unless you've rearranged them) When you open My Computer you should see something like: Local Disk (c. That's your starting point.


    -rematt
    "I know that you believe you understand what you think I said, but I'm not sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant." - Richard Nixon

  12. #12
    What's the word? Rhia7's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 13th, 2006
    Posts
    9,578
    rematt,

    Thank you so much for helping me.

    I got to the part where I select "Show Hidden Files and Folders" ok

    What I see in My computer is:
    On the left:
    System Tasks
    Other Places
    Details

    To the right/center:
    Files Stores on This Computer
    Hard Disk Drives (Local Disk C)
    Devices with Removable Storage
    and Other

    When you say Directories, are you referring to the folders listed on Local Disk C?
    ~Rhia7 -- Remember the 7
    Twitter me

  13. #13
    The Seal of Aproval rematt's Avatar
    Join Date
    November 19th, 2006
    Location
    The Windy City
    Posts
    4,140
    Quote Originally Posted by Rhia7
    When you say Directories, are you referring to the folders listed on Local Disk C?
    Yep. That's your starting point. Then just go to c:\windows\system32\drivers\etc and find the hosts file.

    -rematt
    "I know that you believe you understand what you think I said, but I'm not sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant." - Richard Nixon

  14. #14
    What's the word? Rhia7's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 13th, 2006
    Posts
    9,578
    I finally found etc
    *but* I don't understand it. I see weird domains such as porn domains.
    Should I erase all those weird mappings of IP addresses to host names? What am I looking for?

    How can this file help me?

    # This file contains the mappings of IP addresses to host names. Each
    # entry should be kept on an individual line. The IP address should
    # be placed in the first column followed by the corresponding host name.
    # The IP address and the host name should be separated by at least one
    # space.
    #
    # Additionally, comments (such as these) may be inserted on individual
    # lines or following the machine name denoted by a '#' symbol.
    #
    It's a list of entries by entries inserted by Spybot - Search & Destroy
    but I don't see a CJ server on the list.
    Last edited by Rhia7; October 1st, 2007 at 06:35 PM.
    ~Rhia7 -- Remember the 7
    Twitter me

  15. #15
    The Seal of Aproval rematt's Avatar
    Join Date
    November 19th, 2006
    Location
    The Windy City
    Posts
    4,140
    The host file allows you to remap am address to a different address. Like the pr0n sites that you see are probably remapped to a more innocuous address which in effect blocks you from visiting those sites.

    If you don't see any of the CJ servers then this probably isn't the issue. Don't erase anything, just close the file.

    I was hoping that this might solve the problem, but it seems that the hunt for a solution continues. I'll let you know if I think of anything else that might be blocking your access.

    -rematt
    "I know that you believe you understand what you think I said, but I'm not sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant." - Richard Nixon

  16. #16
    What's the word? Rhia7's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 13th, 2006
    Posts
    9,578
    Quote Originally Posted by rematt
    If you don't see any of the CJ servers then this probably isn't the issue. Don't erase anything, just close the file.

    I was hoping that this might solve the problem, but it seems that the hunt for a solution continues. I'll let you know if I think of anything else that might be blocking your access.

    -rematt
    Thank you very much for your help.

    Upon seeing all the weird domains at first I tried to delete them, but I guess luckily I didn't.

    I have never encountered a problem like this one.
    ~Rhia7 -- Remember the 7
    Twitter me

  17. #17
    Moderator BurgerBoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    jacked by sylon www.sylonddos.weebly.com
    Posts
    9,618
    Talking
    Sometimes something as simple as clearing all of the cookies - temporary internet files - etc. and then re-booting your computer by turning it off and then back on again produces good results.

    Don't re-start it - turn it off and on again.

    Have you tried that?

    Vietnam Veteran 1966-1970 USASA
    ABW Forum Rules - Advertise At ABW

  18. #18
    ABW Ambassador Bob Lawrence's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 2nd, 2007
    Posts
    1,090
    Rhia7

    I posted this somewhere in another thread but don't recall where. Somehow when we did our server updates here at home we blocked some IP addresses. And this is what we had to do in order to access our host domain and accounts there. I don't know if you can follow this but it's something you can check to see if its blocking those IP that you are wanting access to.

    Go to Your control panel and (left) click on Network and Internet Connections
    Then (left) Click On Network Connections
    Then (right) Click On Local Area Connections
    Select Properties From the Menu Choice
    Window that open should read Local Area Connection Properties
    Select "General Tab" if it isn't already selected
    In the scroll down box these Items should have a check in the select boxes,
    Client for Microsoft Networks
    File and Printer Sharing for Microsoft Networks
    QoS Packet Scheduler
    Internet Protocol (TCP/IP)
    Highlight ""Internet Protocol (TCP/IP)"" and Click Properties on This One
    <<General Tab>>
    Obtain an IP address automatically [Radio Button] should be Selected.
    Obtain DNS server address atomatically [Radio Button] should be Selected.
    <<Aternate Configuration>>
    Automatic private IP address [Radio Button] should be Selected.

    <<<<This One Should Not Be CHecked >>>
    Microsoft TCP/IP version 6

    If this is checked and has an IP or DNS server address it sending your request else-where.

    Hope This was helpfull.

  19. #19
    What's the word? Rhia7's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 13th, 2006
    Posts
    9,578
    Burger Boy, thanks for the suggestion, I've done that at least 4 or 5 times today.

    I am very unhappy. I have no idea why I can not connect to CJ links.
    ~Rhia7 -- Remember the 7
    Twitter me

  20. #20
    Moderator BurgerBoy's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 18th, 2005
    Location
    jacked by sylon www.sylonddos.weebly.com
    Posts
    9,618
    Talking
    Have you called the company that you take internet access from?

    Maybe they have a problem or their firewall is blocking your access.

    I had that problem at one time in the past and it was them - not my computer.

    Vietnam Veteran 1966-1970 USASA
    ABW Forum Rules - Advertise At ABW

  21. #21
    What's the word? Rhia7's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 13th, 2006
    Posts
    9,578
    Actually, I was on an online chat with my ISP last night and I asked that he check my IE & Firefox which he did.

    Windows Security--should the Firewall be on or off?

    My Mommy just yelled at me and said that I should be careful not to visit the wrong type of sites -- I told her that "the wrong sites" don't congregate in one area. I said that anyone can pick up a computer virus or spyware.

    I also said that my computer seems to be working fine *except* I can't do what I really want to do: I can't follow a link created at CJ. I can create the link but I can't follow it to be certain that it works.

    I went to another affiliate's site who uses CJ links but my random clicks did not work there either

    There must be a solution because only CJ links are giving me a tough time -- but the situation is driving me *bonkers!!*
    ~Rhia7 -- Remember the 7
    Twitter me

  22. #22
    ABW Ambassador Bob Lawrence's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 2nd, 2007
    Posts
    1,090
    Rhia7

    Firewall should always be on unless you are asking someone online for remote assistance. This is for your own computer protection from hackers.

  23. #23
    What's the word? Rhia7's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 13th, 2006
    Posts
    9,578
    Quote Originally Posted by bobs-pcmall.com
    Rhia7

    Firewall should always be on unless you are asking someone online for remote assistance. This is for your own computer protection from hackers.
    Thanks for that info
    ~Rhia7 -- Remember the 7
    Twitter me

  24. #24

    Join Date
    June 7th, 2006
    Posts
    1,596
    On the other hand my windows firewall is off (on all machines). For one it's not that great, and second there is also a router firewall (if needed), etc. Personally I would turn OFF windows firewall.

    Again, just my opinion.

  25. #25
    What's the word? Rhia7's Avatar
    Join Date
    January 13th, 2006
    Posts
    9,578
    Ebay and CJ?
    How is eBay linked with CJ? I see references to eBay in my Zone Alarm as a recently visited url *but* I never go to eBay nor do I go to sites with anything to do with eBay.

    I told Zone Alarm to ignore eBay but if eBay is connected with CJ, maybe I should undo that command?

    My head is spinning in terms of what else I can do. Nothing seems to do the trick.
    ~Rhia7 -- Remember the 7
    Twitter me

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Htaccess File Problem
    By silver93350 in forum Midnight Cafe'
    Replies: 44
    Last Post: June 24th, 2011, 03:25 PM
  2. A HOSTS File Dilemma!
    By Mr. Sal in forum Midnight Cafe'
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: December 24th, 2007, 04:06 PM
  3. Hosts file blocking - can we detect this?
    By NROforum in forum Blocking Tips/Advice/scripts
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: April 16th, 2003, 06:46 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •